What the heck is this popup?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Merkava_4, Dec 25, 2014.

1. Merkava_4 macrumors 6502a

[​IMG]

I get that every so often. Of course I press Cancel because I don't want some app making changes to my files. How do I get rid of this thing?

2. KUguardgrl13 macrumors 68020

KUguardgrl13

First, are you the computer admin, or do you have a secondary account on there? Second, did you download this Completer app?

I'm not an expert, but as I understand it, this file is missing the proper file permissions and wants you to verify the file so it can run. If you're on the admin account and you don't know where the file came from, I guess you can continue to ignore it. The pop-ups will continue until you fix the file permissions or remove the file.

3. Merkava_4 thread starter macrumors 6502a

I am not the admin, but I have the admin's password.

I don't remember ever downloading that app, nor do I know what it's for. One thing that's weird, even though I press the cancel button, the app still puts an installer disc icon on the desktop. Thanks for your help. :)

4. jdelgado macrumors regular

5. Anitramane macrumors 6502

Rule of thumb, if it looks weird, it's probably junk software.

6. Merkava_4 thread starter macrumors 6502a

I found it! With the help of jdelgado's links, I got it in the trash and deleted it. :)

This is the link I used for the instructions.

7. KUguardgrl13 macrumors 68020

KUguardgrl13

If it's your laptop, I'd strongly suggest that you switch over to the admin account. There's no reason you shouldn't be unless you share somebody else's laptop.

8. jdelgado macrumors regular

Why use the admin account? Can you elaborate?
    I have separate admin and user accounts in my MBP, and the user account is my regular/working environment. Although it may result in more work at times, particularly when installing or updating applications, I know if something is trying to do things I have not requested.

9. Fishrrman macrumors G3