What the hell?!? iPod Touch REQUIRES registration!?!

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Wolfpup, Sep 22, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Wolfpup macrumors 68030

Am I missing something here? My Touch would do NOTHING out of the box-it required syncing with iTunes. Okay, that's a bit odd, but okay.

But...when I connected it, my only options were to register it, or "cancel/later/whatever". When I did that, it just gave me a log-in/register screen for an Apple account...and that was it. There was NO way around that process that I could see.

I went ahead and registered it, because what choice do I have? I can't return in. But...wow. I would NEVER have bought that had I known. I've been using an iPod since 2003, but I would have switched to something else (and I will, when this thing goes)...unless I'm totally missing something.

I like iTunes, but I can always use Juice or whatever it's called for my podcasts.

2. Eric Isaacson macrumors 6502

3. manuminhas macrumors newbie

Why does it matter? it only takes like a 1-2 minutes.

I'm getting my iPod touch 2nd generation Thursday :D!!!!!!! I ordered it but I'm having trouble waitinggggggg

4. -Dark Angel- macrumors 6502

Yeah, these newish ipods are requiring registration for activation. I bought my mom that fatty nano and it required itunes activation. Not a big deal though, didn't take that long to set up.

5. NT1440 macrumors G4

NT1440

its not like its forcing you to buy anything, just apple wanting to know that its products are being used.

6. Wolfpup thread starter macrumors 68030

Wow. What astounding responses. I'm pretty shocked.

Well I wasn't given a choice. I would *NEVER* have bought this had I known, and I'm done with Apple products after this. I was buying a Macbook Pro after the update, but forget that. This actually surpasses Microsoft's DRM/sleaziness.

7. Hamiltonian macrumors member