What The... RAM ?!

Discussion in 'iMac' started by atopos, Jul 29, 2011.

  1. atopos macrumors newbie

    atopos

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    #1
    Why the new, basic, 21.5" iMac
    can only have 2 x 4GB memory sticks,
    and the same 2.7 Ghz version - 4 x 4 ?!
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    Every current iMac has four RAM slots, thus can have up to 32GB of RAM with the correct modules.
     
  3. meli macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    #3
    Just because the Apple Store doesn't offer it as an option, that doesn't mean the computer can't handle it. Anyway, you'll save a lot of money by not ordering extra RAM from Apple, try Crucial.com or macsales.com
     
  4. atopos thread starter macrumors newbie

    atopos

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    #4
    I'm no so stupid to buy RAM from Apple ! ;)
    But... if they stated that - THERE IS NO 16 GB option,
    thats MEANS something, isn't it ?
    Are they stupid, not wanting to sell more
    overpriced RAM with the 2.5 Ghz version ?

    What about my Apple guarantee
    if I put 16 GB inside and...
    my iMac burns ?
     
  5. atopos thread starter macrumors newbie

    atopos

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    #5
    Maybe there are some differences in the Mainboard ?
     
  6. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #6
    It's the same. 16GB will work fine, and as a previous poster mentioned, 32GB would work as well. Many people have done it.

    By the way, even if you did figure out how to put some obscene amount in that the computer actually couldn't recognize, it would just not boot. As far as apple care, since RAM is user-upgradeable, it wouldn't make a difference, the RAM just wouldn't be covered.
     
  7. bigshawn0 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    #7
    So could I order an iMac with 4GB RAM and change it to 16GB RAM without any other necessary changes?
     
  8. MythicFrost macrumors 68040

    MythicFrost

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #8
    Yep. Since it comes with 2x2GB already I find it the best value to throw in 2x4GB to get a total of 12GB.
     
  9. chrono1081 macrumors 604

    chrono1081

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Isla Nublar
    #9
    This is what I did with my Mac Pro. I ordered it with 3 gigs ram (I think that was the minimum) and ordered 24 gigs from Macsales.com
     
  10. bigshawn0 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011

Share This Page