What to buy: iPhone 5S vs iPhone 6

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Dingado, Oct 26, 2014.

1. Dingado macrumors member

Hi guys,

My last iPhone was the 3G (not even the s!) so it's been a while since I've had an iPhone. (Been an Android user since then) Well, I figured it was about time to go back.

As a college student I would like to save money so I narrowed it down to either the 5S or the 6. I would ultimately like to buy a used iPhone 5s as it would most likely be much cheaper, but I am dreading buying a used phone from a stranger and truly knowing whether it's unlocked, paid off, not stolen, and battery is not horrible. Note: Regardless of the phone, I am buying it UNLOCKED.

Buying a brand new iPhone 5s from Apple seems a little silly, when I can put in a little over a $100 more and get the 6, but is it really worth it?

Honestly, the screen size to me does not matter all that much.

I hope you can give me some opinions as I am struggling making a decision. It's not like I can't afford the 6, but I would rather save money if it's not going to end up making me regret the purchase for the next two years. :mad:

Thanks for any advice that you can provide,

Cheers.

2. tentales macrumors 6502a

tentales

Save your money and get a 16GB iPhone 5c (from a carrier) for $0 on a 2 year contract. Then pay the unlock fee, usually $50 or less to get it unlocked.
    Unless you need an A7 chip because you do intense gaming on your phone, stick with the re-issue of the iPhone 5, that's a huge upgrade from the 3G anyhow.
    Just avoid the 8GB phone, coz after iOS 8 and "other" storage have eaten up most of it, you'll have about 2-3GB of actual user space left.

You'll need less cash upfront and can spread the device subsidy out over 2 years. Then go BYOD afterwards and pocket the discount on the monthly rate plans.

Anyhow, that's the sensible choice for students.