What to buy?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Danka, Sep 26, 2017.

?

I am new to Apple. I have always had a PC and now want to switch. But what do I buy?

1. written advice

2. personal experience

Multiple votes are allowed.
Results are only viewable after voting.
  1. Danka macrumors newbie

Danka

I am new to Apple. I have always had a PC and now want to switch. But what do I buy?

I am NOT a gamer. I want it for Facebook, email, word, searching the internet, and photo editing.

I don't know what would meet my needs: the MacBook Air, or MacBook Pro or just the MacBook?

2. ZapNZs macrumors 68020

ZapNZs

All three models will probably meet your needs.

What is most important to you?
    Price? Size? Battery life? Processing power? Storage capacity? Screen quality? Trackpad with Force Touch? Having certain ports? Backlit keyboard? Speaker quality?

Have you tried out the keyboards on the MacBook and MacBook Pro to compare to the MacBook Air? - if so, do you prefer one over the other?

Have you played with the touchbar yet?

3. Danka thread starter macrumors newbie

Danka

I have not tried the keyboard or touchbar. I know I want a back lit keyboard and battery life is important and so is screen quality. I don't like track pads.

4. Samuelsan2001 macrumors 604

Well I'm pretty sure the apple trackpads will change your mind I prefer them to a mouse and struggle with any other trackpad.

If screen quality is important the air is out. The MacBook and the Mack book pro both have the same 2nd generation butterfly keyboard, and very similar battery life. I would be looking at the Macbook or the non touch bar MBP for your usage.

They will cost the about the same and your choice is basically extreme portability or a bit of extra performance and more ports and a slightly larger screen.

Personally it's the MBP all the way for me but that's just my opinion, I like a bit of performance overhead and a slightly larger screen.

5. ZapNZs macrumors 68020