What to buy?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by davemanroe, Jan 16, 2008.

  1. davemanroe macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #1
    Hi, I was all set on buying an iMac after no imac updates were announced at MWSF, but before I dive in, I've a few questions.

    I was going to get the 500gb HDD upgrade, but time capsule is making me think otherwise; stick with the 320Gb, and have the benefits of wireless network storage and backup which could take a big chunk off the onboard HDD load?

    secondly, i'm looking to upgrade the RAM myself - i take it that is a pretty straight forward job?

    Thanks!
     
  2. MacVault macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2002
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    #2
    davemanroe, Your dilemma sounds like mine and is due to the fact that Apple refuses to offer an affordable Mac tower configuration.

    As far as your hard drive choice, Time Capsul, etc.... think about this... This is the problem with Time Capsul - it has no RAID feature. Now does Apple really think I'm stupid enough to backup and archive stuff to a single disk drive - even if it is a "server-grade" drive?

    So, if you have an iMac with a 320GB drive and a Time Capsul with a 500-1000GB drive, your redundancy factor is still limited to your smallest drive - in this case 320GB.

    This could all be resolved if Apple would just give us some tower Mac options in the MacMini / iMac price range - and yes, I know this will never happen, at least as long as Steve Errogant Jobs is in dictatorship :mad::mad::mad:
     
  3. themoonisdown09 macrumors 601

    themoonisdown09

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
    #3
    TimeCapsule is a consumer product, not a professional product. I don't know any consumer's that have/need a RAID setup at their house.
     
  4. MacVault macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2002
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    #4
    Question 1: Does hardware (drives) fail? Yes, it's a matter of when, not if.
    Question 2: Do consumers put their data on hard drives? Yes
    Question 3: Do consumers enjoy losing their data? No

    So... whether you want to call RAID consumer or professions doesn't matter to me. Going by your logic (consumer vs pro), why would Apple specifically say Time Capsul has a "server-grade" drive.

    Even if you are a consumer you should never have your data on only one physical disk.
     
  5. themoonisdown09 macrumors 601

    themoonisdown09

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
    #5
    RAIDs are very expensive and probably something the everyday consumer does not want to mess with... regardless of if their hard drives could fail. Plus, if they did offer the RAID support on the TimeCapsule, then you would be complaining that the price is too expensive and they need to offer a cheaper option. From all your posts that I've seen, you aren't happy with anything.
     
  6. davemanroe thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #6
    Just done a quick stock take of what I currently use - 320gb across 2 hdd, about 100gb from full. I pull backups of my important stuff (photos / music) onto the 2nd drive, which also runs as a general overflow drive, and temporary install drive.

    I think that a 320 Gb hdd will see me fine, and i'll probably use a spare external HDD for backups until I see if it's worth getting a time capsule - it says on the apple store that it can be used as a network HDD, which could be useful for the other networked devices in my house.

    Cheers

    D
     
  7. themoonisdown09 macrumors 601

    themoonisdown09

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
    #7
    I just bought my iMac last night with a 750GB hard drive. I got that size rather than the 320GB because I will be stuck with the hard drive that is in there. I think that switching out the hard drive for a bigger one later could cause more problems (exmaple: dust behind the glass).

    I do have an external 500GB hard drive I use for my music, movies and application backups, but I really don't want to be accessing my external HDD every day... it's kind of noisy.
     
  8. Chris204 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    #8
    I bought the 20" iMac last night and I think I made a great decision. I was also wondering about the RAM upgrade, so I found this video:
    http://media.macsales.com/imac/imaclowres.html

    It shows in detail how easy it is to install RAM yourself. Good luck.
     
  9. stekerrod macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Location:
    Macclesfield/Salford England
    #9
    its easy, takes a couple of minutes to do on iMacs, just a small panel underneath the screen that unscrews to reveal the ram slots
     

Share This Page