What to buy

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Nitro1, Dec 8, 2009.

1. Nitro1 macrumors 6502

So i am a Sound engineer and i am very interested in getting a good Pro tool's rig. Here are my idea's
    I was thinking a iMac with the i7 core and all the rest standard and i will upgrade the Ram to 4-8GB.
    OR
    Should i get a Mac pro with a quad core and 4-8 GB of ram again.

My Issue's
    Money is not a concern but space is
    It will be much easier for me to get an iMac and just add an external NAS or setup for Raid to back up my Pro tools recordings.
    But on the other end a Mac pro does open the upgradability of the hard drives.

Any idea's would be appreciated.

THanks

2. Velin macrumors 65816

Velin

If audio and Pro Tools is your business, and money isn't a factor -- no question, get the Mac Pro.

The 4 internal Mac Pro drive bays alone are enough for you to get a Mac Pro. With four internal drives, your sessions will be much more responsive and disk writes are faster, period. This leaves your firewire port open for interfaces, etc., anything you need.

Do not discount the flexibility of drive bays. In 2 minutes you can swap in a fresh terabyte drive for a particular session. Large track counts + multiple internal drive bays + ability to rotate storage in just minutes = godly.

PCIe slots. I don't know your setup, but you may come to love them. You're really stuck with an iMac if you need to pop in a card.

Protools HD -- correct me if I'm wrong, but don't you need a PCIe slot for the card? Even if you're not running PTHD right now, it'd be really nice to have the option.