Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Simplesimon101

macrumors regular
Original poster
Oct 5, 2006
Hi

i'm a graphics student and i did some graphics as a favour for a friend of mine. they really liked the work and i'm now being paid to produce graphics for the charity that they're involved in. (they're paying me £9/hour)

but now someone who helps out the charity who also runs another small business wants me to help them out by doing graphics for them.

what would be a good hourly rate to charge? (as a student designer...) does £9/hour sound like a good rate to tell everyone? or should it be different as it's for a business?

thanks... any help from people in the know would be much appreciated. :)

Eraserhead

macrumors G4
Nov 3, 2005
UK
£9/hour seems low for a skilled job, especially as you are consulting for them. How good are you?

bvonarx

macrumors newbie
Feb 11, 2008
Whatever you decide to charge, above all else make sure to retain all rights to your work, or negotiate an addition fee for those rights.

LeviG

macrumors 65816
Nov 6, 2006
Norfolk, UK
According to google:
25 U.S. dollars = 12.8211703 British pounds

and according to the Unit Converter widget:
$25 = £12.891

Don't forget the UK tax like every american company (including apple) adds on. $25 is really about £15-£20 ( or if you like Vista and Adobe it should be £50 as they seem to like doubling the US price :) )

Personally I wouldn't pay a student more than £15 however they would need to be very good for that.

IgnatiusTheKing

macrumors 68040
Nov 17, 2007
Texas
I don't know about in the UK, but every time I'm in Europe it seems like the numerical price is the same, but it's in Euros instead of Dollars, which, in essence, makes everything about 50% more expensive for me.

Simplesimon101

macrumors regular
Original poster
Oct 5, 2006