Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

seniorchap

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 3, 2007
I've been asked to make a photo slideshow, and have no idea what to charge.

I'm an amateur, but my slideshows are pretty good, and I've got twenty-one one youtube right now.

This is what I do: I take about 100 to 150 of the very best shots that I've taken of the occasion. I make an iPhoto or iMovie slideshow out of it, then add music from itunes, add a photo to the DVD disk cover, then burn it.

So, what do you think I should charge. I would guess that the total time put into the whole thing would be about six hours including the photo shoot.

I'd appreciate any information.

Thanks,

Seniorchap

marclapierre13

macrumors 6502a
Jul 7, 2005
Id pay $20 for an amatuer slidershow. Maybe like $30 or $40 for a professional one. Slideshows are pretty easy to do, so no body should charge to much.

If you have to take the pictures though as well, the price should be substantially higher, especially if you need to rent a studio, or set up your own studio.

SLC Flyfishing

Suspended
Nov 19, 2007
Portland, OR
My brother-in-law did this sort of thing (well exactly this sort of thing) while he was out of work. He imported photos in from iPhoto to make a slideshow with transitions etc in iMovie. He used to charge up to $1000 and he'd get it.

He did this for weddings (and weddings are big business in Utah) so I think that people paid a lot more than they should have, but they still paid.

SLC

marioman38

macrumors 6502a
Aug 8, 2006
Long Beach, CA
Depends on the Event (Charge more for once-in-a-lifetime events, such as a wedding, over a b-day party etc.) and how you know them (give your friends a small break.)

faustfire

macrumors 6502a
Jul 17, 2002
California