What to do about SIMs?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by justflie, Jun 18, 2009.

  1. justflie macrumors 6502a

    justflie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Location:
    Red Sox Nation
    #1
    Am I supposed to take the SIM out of my 3G and put it in my 3GS or do I just use the one that came with the 3GS?
     
  2. Warbrain macrumors 603

    Warbrain

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
  3. SeanZy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
  4. NotOwning macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    #4
    Will the new SIM card = a new number?

    Also, how do I transfer all of my apps, contacts, and all other data from my 3G iPhone to my 3GS iPhone?
     
  5. levpa05 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    #5
    transfer

    iTunes will do this for you.
     
  6. duelingdragons macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #6
    Simply swap your SIM from your 3G to your 3GS. That will bring over contacts, etc.

    Sync your 3GS in iTunes and it should bring everything else bac.
     
  7. darngooddesign macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #7
    There is nothing special about your SIM. Your number can be tied to your new SIM.

    Make sure you have all your contacts on your computer. When you get the new phone just sync them from your computer to your phone.
     
  8. Warbrain macrumors 603

    Warbrain

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #8
    No, it won't. The iPhone doesn't store contacts on the SIM. Keep all data on the computer and then the iPhone and iTunes will handle the transfer of the number.
     
  9. CocoaPuffs macrumors 68010

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    #9
    It depends on how the phone was activated. If it was activated with new sim card, then your existing sim card will no longer work, and the one that comes with the new phone will.
     
  10. Romanesq macrumors 6502a

    Romanesq

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2003
    Location:
    Hoboken
    #10
    not on the sim

    Make sure you do a complete backup on your computer.

    When the new 3GS arrives you sync via iTunes and your data loads.
     
  11. NotOwning macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    #11
    This is going to be a little ridiculous to ask, but on my computer there are already a bunch of contacts in my address book because I changed all the screen names on my buddy list on iChat to peoples actual names which creates each of them as a contact in address book. I don't want these contacts to sync over to my phone. How do I sync only the contacts from my phone to my comp and no vice-versa.

    Also when I get my new phone how do I sync only the contacts I want over, can I create a list and just sync that list?
     

Share This Page