What to do after installing RAM?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Beach Guy, May 1, 2012.

  1. Beach Guy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    #1
    I just ordered 16gb of RAM from OWC for my 2011 Imac. The installation looks quite simple, I'm just wondering if there is anything I need to do once I've installed the new RAM and I start up the computer? Is it as simple as turning it on and that's it? I hope so...thanks for any info provided...I very much appreciate it.
     
  2. Ubuntu macrumors 68000

    Ubuntu

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK/US
    #2
    Just turn it on. If the iMac makes a loud beep when booting it means that the RAM has been installed incorrectly, so just make sure the RAM has clicked when inserted.
     
  3. Beach Guy thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    #3
    Thanks for the reply...I don't think it'll be a problem...I just wanted to be sure.
     
  4. harcosparky macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #4
    After you install new Ram there is one thing you must do after powering it up ...


    ENJOY IT !!!!


    I think you will find 16GB to be the 'sweet spot' for almost all users.
     
  5. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #5
    Check that you have actually installed your ram properly. Click on the apple menu and about my mac and confirm that it's reporting the correct amount. It's quite easy to not push in some of the sticks properly and the computer will still beep and boot up normally.
     
  6. ThisIsMe macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Location:
    Amsterdam
  7. chevalier433 macrumors 6502a

    chevalier433

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    #7
    After a ram upgrade you don't need a smc or pram reset?
     
  8. NewbieCanada macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    #8
    Nope. "It just works." :D
     
  9. chevalier433 macrumors 6502a

    chevalier433

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    #9
    yeah sure i have 12 in my iMac but remember i have done a both just in case.. ;)
     
  10. Taz Mangus macrumors 68040

    Taz Mangus

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    #10
    I would suggest hanging onto your original RAM. If something goes wrong with the RAM you just bought you can just re-install the original RAM.
     
  11. QuantumLo0p macrumors 6502a

    QuantumLo0p

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    #11
    Nope.

    I agree with a previous poster about checking the ram from the Apple drop down menu and taking a peek in About This Mac. When I installed more ram in my Mini I had one module not quite right and it wasn't recognized until I re-seated it.

    Once I upgraded a video card in my PowerMac DP G5 LC. I went like this: power down, open case, swap cards, close case, power on. It saw the new card and had the proper driver ready to go. At the time I was kind of bewildered because that was the first time I ever did a Mac hardware upgrade and I was waiting for the "....found new hardware..." usual message that accompanies installs on Windows computers.

    LOL
     
  12. Beach Guy thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    #12
    My new RAM is being delivered today. Thanks for the info!
     
  13. Beach Guy thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    #13
    New RAM is installed...pretty amazing! Biggest difference is when I use FCP X!
     
  14. Thomas Veil, May 5, 2012
    Last edited: May 5, 2012

    Thomas Veil macrumors 68020

    Thomas Veil

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Location:
    OBJECTIVE reality
    #14
    I just did the same thing a couple of months ago: ordered RAM from OWC for my 2008 iMac. Went from 1GB to 6.

    As you say, memory-intensive stuff like video apps run much better now. Only problem I had in installation was, I couldn't get one chip to slide in. Found out that OWC had put their sticker on the top side of one module, and the bottom side of the other module, and since the first chip fit into the slot with the label side up, I was trying to do the second one that way too. Soon as I flipped the chip, voila.
     
  15. Mister Bumbo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    #15
    Heh... in January this year I upgraded my Early 2009 iMac 20" from 4GB to 8GB, and I noticed no difference whatsoever in applications that should be affected, I guess the other components are the bottleneck for me. ^^
     
  16. nickerjones macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2012
    #16
    on the topic of Ram...
    The 2011 iMac has 4 ram slots correct? So I can just buy 4x4gb of ram to equal 16gb total correct?
     
  17. PsstGreek macrumors 68040

    PsstGreek

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Location:
    Tampa Bay
    #17
    Correct. Just make sure is the correct kind.
     
  18. John T macrumors 68020

    John T

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Location:
    UK.
    #18
    This is not unusual. A lot think that the simple addition of RAM will speed up their machine etc. As you have discovered, this is a misconception. It all depends on how you are using the machine - checking on page-ins and page-outs on the Activity Monitor is the only reliable way of determining if more RAM is actually needed.
     

Share This Page