Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

kahornshoej

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 2, 2011
Hello guys and girls may you can help me out.

Rigt now I have a 21" late 2013 256gb ssd 16gb i7. Still running smooth.

I have been waiting and saving for an iMac upgrade. Now the 2019 upgrade is finally is here im thinking about ordering the following:

27" i5 9. generation
8 Gb ram
580x
512 gb ssd.

Price in Denmark: 3060 usd at educationstore. Im a teacher.

Well, for me its a lot of money and the specs are probably overkill. But I want my purchase to last many years. 5-10 years.

And that's where my concern comes in. Im thinking; what if the redesign comes at the next update? Will I have buyers remorse? I know it's a difficult question to answer. But what would you do in my situation?

Im really debating what to do. I just love new tech and I have been waiting so long and my wife has given me the go ahead. My old iMac is running fine for my needs, but man I would love that 27" screen.
I can probably sell my current iMac for 680usd.

Reactions: WrightBrain

BigBoy2018

Suspended
Oct 23, 2018
don't buy. there will be a substantial refresh/redesign in September.

I think thats completely wrong.

They are clearly on a 2-year update schedule.
But obviously if he can wait until september and find out you’re wrong he can always buy the current model at that point.

kahornshoej

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 2, 2011
We really can’t help you. You don’t have a computer problem.

You're right. It's in my mind. I think i´ll just pull the trigger on that config. I love the current design. Theres 99% chance the next will be even better, but who knows what and when but Cook.
Besides I look at the iMac as a piece of design furniture.
[doublepost=1553295068][/doublepost]
I think thats completely wrong.

They are clearly on a 2-year update schedule.