what to do if I have no idea what the password is?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by SarahKirschbaum, Aug 14, 2016.

1. SarahKirschbaum macrumors regular

I've been using my 2014 Macbook Air for a couple of years. It was purchased new from the local Best Buy store. (still have original receipt)

I don't remember if I created a password for the MBA when I unboxed it. At that time, I had just switched from Windows to Mac OS and it was my very first Mac.

Last week, I bought a new printer and downloaded the printer software from the manufacturer. Unfortunately, the MBA would not allow it to be installed because it's not from an approved list or manufacturers or something. It said I had to change my security setting for it to be installed.

The problem is that it's asking me for my MBA's password. I tried my Apple ID password and every password that I have ever used in the last several years(as well as variations of them). I am the only person using this MBA and I have never lent it to anybody.

I tried reading about this password issue online but can't figure out which one will actually help me figure out what the password is.(or to reset or create a new one from scratch)

Can anyone help me with this?

Thanks in advance!

2. Mr_Brightside_@ macrumors 68020

Mr_Brightside_@

3. MacDawg macrumors Core

MacDawg

You've been using your MBA for a couple of years and have never had to enter your Admin password before?

4. SarahKirschbaum, Aug 14, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2016

SarahKirschbaum thread starter macrumors regular

I think it might have asked me a couple of times when I was connecting to a network or something... but those were things that I never really needed, so I just ignore it.

but, yes, I've been using the MBA without having to enter any passwords during all this time.
    --- Post Merged, Aug 14, 2016 ---
    I saw that as well.... but that seems kind of scary to me.
    If resetting the password was so easy, why does Apple