What to do with an eMac?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by onkzzz, May 26, 2014.

  1. onkzzz macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2013
    Location:
    Coventry, England, UK
    #1
    My school are selling eMacs for £10 per mac. Nobody wants them and they have about 18 of them with OS X installed (not 9).
    I may buy one, but what can one do with an eMac?

    ----------

    BTW these were used in our music rooms. Now we have 2013 iMacs in!
     
  2. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #2
    Anything... Web browsing, Photoshop, Music, anything. They aren't as fast as a new machine but well worth it for that price. Get like 5...
     
  3. 53kyle macrumors 65816

    53kyle

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Location:
    Sebastopol, CA
    #3
    They are excellent jukeboxes :D Seriously though, you can get a bunch (if not all of them) and then sell them on ebay for what they are really worth.
     
  4. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #4
    Or be like Southern Dad and stockpile them for coupon printing. However, get a couple of the top spec models and it'll be good.
     
  5. mojolicious macrumors 68000

    mojolicious

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Location:
    Sarf London
    #5
    Not much more than £10, but the look of things.

    You can do stuff with eMacs – I had one on my desk for 4-5 years – but the problem with them as secondary machines or servers or whatever is the space they take up.
     
  6. onkzzz thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2013
    Location:
    Coventry, England, UK
    #6
    I was looking to use of these as game servers for games like Minecraft and Counter Strike, or a home DLNA server with Ubuntu.
    But, would they be able to handle it all?

    ----------

    How much could they be worth?
    They are used-ish, and have 0 accessories.
    They have some spare tiger discs if anyone wants one xD

    ----------

    Exactly.
    I don't know where I will put it if I get one.
    BTW, does anyone know if you can get AirPort in one of these? They are currently Ethernet only :p

    ----------

    BTW. They arent even selling at £10.
    All they want is a £5 minimum donation to the school fund for music and I get one!
     
  7. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #7
    It is in your best interest to get Tiger disks. Retail software is always good to have. The original eMacs 700 or 800 MHz take a regular AirPort A/B card, but later eMacs took an AirPort Extreme card. For Minecraft, I know it can only do up to 1.5.2.
     
  8. 53kyle macrumors 65816

    53kyle

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Location:
    Sebastopol, CA
    #8
    I don't know how much they are really worth, but on ebay I see them at £20-100, some with and some without accessories.
     
  9. sotosoul macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    #9
    I'd love to buy one... Is there any way I can have it delivered here, in Athens?
     
  10. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #10
    They weigh 50 pounds / 23 kilograms. They aren't worth the price to ship them.
     
  11. urbis macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2013
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
  12. onkzzz thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2013
    Location:
    Coventry, England, UK
    #12
    lol

    ----------

    Really? I might sell some then... make some casshhh

    Hmmm... I don't know if i wanna spend money on airport cards.
    Besides, they would be rare to buy in the UK im guessing...
    You cant even buy a iBook G4 logic board here... so yeah.
     
  13. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #13

    They can be had on the Internet. Though I don't look at the UK version of eBay.
     
  14. TacticalDesire macrumors 68020

    TacticalDesire

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Location:
    Michigan
    #14
    Word processing is the most I would probably use one for. The modern web is a bit much for most models unless you have the max (1gb) amount of ram and the faster CPU and even then there are plenty of limitations. It would also work well as a jukebox of some sort. You could attach an external drive for more music storage as the internal hard drives tend to be a bit small.
     
  15. mark80 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    #15
    Put Linux on it

    I would experiment with some lightweight Linux distro. Maybe start with a pure cli and add a lightweight window manager. With a light os, the machine shoud handle most websites at acceptable speed.
     
  16. onkzzz thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2013
    Location:
    Coventry, England, UK
    #16
    Ah, you see, I thought of this first before I posted this here.
    I don't know if I really want to get a "mac" and turn it into a "slight-mac". (if you know what i mean).

    I want to keep OS X 10.3 on there and I want to make the best use out of it.
    It is a good idea to use it with Linux but it is not worth the money and hassle.
    Then again, we all have opinions :D
     
  17. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #17
    Best way would be to go Tiger. The resource footprint is close to Panther in my experience and you have a much better selection on software.
     
  18. SkyBell macrumors 604

    SkyBell

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    Texas, unfortunately.
    #18
    10.3 is still usable I suppose, but 10.4 is more stable, up to date and actually still has a small amount of supported apps for it. If you can find it, get it for sure.

    If not, Linux may be your best shot... it can be a hassle for certain, but "the money" shouldn't be a problem as most distros are free.
     
  19. MysticCow macrumors 6502a

    MysticCow

    Joined:
    May 27, 2013
    #19
  20. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #20
    Mac OS X is still very usable. Do you use MorphOS? I keep hearing about it but have never personally tried it? Do you recommend I give it a shot?
     
  21. Imixmuan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    #21
    If you have 100 bucks (or euros) to blow

    ...then by all means, install MorphOS. I am consistently impressed to blown away by the performance MorphOS gets out of old PowerPC hardware. I've never used it, cause I don't pay for sex or software. This guy shows what an iBook G4 can do with MorphOS:

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EMCZhZX_-mY

    I don't believe there is support for Airport in the current MorphOS release, so you'll have to buy a MorphOS friendly USB dongle or just use it with Ethernet.

    Your web browser choice is limited to Odyssey, which is a modern, webkit based browser.Timberwolf was a port of Firefox to Amiga, but I don't think it went very far past Firefox 4.0. Otherwise MorphOS enthusiasts all seem to be mostly former Amiga gamers, and I never got into Amiga or gaming, so I don't have much to say about that.
     
  22. zabbadoo Guest

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    #23
    You could turn them into planters or a fish bowl.
     
  23. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #24
    Personally, I use Macs to run OS X because I like the software. I appreciate their efforts though...
     
  24. MysticCow macrumors 6502a

    MysticCow

    Joined:
    May 27, 2013
    #25
    I tend to lump Morph with Linux in terms of using it on my PowerPC's. If you have an extra Mac to mucky muck with, do it. If not, stay with OS X.
     

Share This Page