what to do?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by stevo8, Jul 11, 2007.

  1. stevo8 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    #1
    ok so I have to replace my opticle drive cause it stopped working and at the same time Im going to install a extra gig. My mbp is a little older so it will only hold two gigs so Im wondering what else i can do to it while its down. I plan to use it for final cut, ps, and I watch a lot of dvd's on it. here is the specs n it.
    Model Name: MacBook Pro 15"
    Model Identifier: MacBookPro1,1
    Processor Name: Intel Core Duo
    Processor Speed: 2 GHz
    Number Of Processors: 1
    Total Number Of Cores: 2
    L2 Cache (per processor): 2 MB
    Memory: 1 GB
    Bus Speed: 667 MHz
    Boot ROM Version: MBP11.0055.B08
    SMC Version: 1.2f10
    Serial Number: W8610037VJ1
    Sudden Motion Sensor:
    State: Enabled
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    Well you could upgrade the hard drive if you're bored, depending on what you're currently using...
     
  3. AppleIntelRock macrumors 65816

    AppleIntelRock

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    #3
    like mad jew said... a larger HDD would be nice.

    you can do a lot of other things when its down... i just don't know if you're into that kind of stuff ;)
     
  4. stevo8 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    #4
    Uh Im using whatever it came with... What are my options for a upgrade?
     
  5. AppleIntelRock macrumors 65816

    AppleIntelRock

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    #5
    HDD? [​IMG]
    O/D? [​IMG]
    Ram? [​IMG]

    other options? nothing I can think of... some strobe lights possibly? :cool:
     
  6. ktbubster macrumors 6502a

    ktbubster

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Location:
    US
    #6
    I believe I have the same computer. It is stock with an 80gb drive, which for me was a big jump as I was running on a 40gb with my tibook, but as I have been using my computer more and doing things much quicker now :) I feel as if I'm filling it up. I'm thinking up upgrading to a 160 or something, and that might not be a bad idea. Upgrade your harddrive if you feel you may need the space (some of those programs you mentioned create decently large files... so it could be good) and either put your current one in a case for a external or sell it to help fund the new one.

    ummm in theory I suppose you could swap out the optical drive for a faster one... but that probably isn't neccessary unless you don't have a superdrive for some reason.

    That's about it. :) Hope you love your machine as much as me!:D

    edit: ignore the part about the optical drive lol.. I totally did read your post... I swear lol
     
  7. stevo8 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    #7
    I know I could most likely search and find my answer but since I started this post already i thought I would just ask... Where is the best place to source ram and a opticle drive?

    Also. Is there something that reasonably priced that i can do for better graphics?
     
  8. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #8
    Your first question depends on where you live. The advertised links on each forum page are usually a pretty good place to start though. I don't understand your second question. :eek:
     
  9. iW00t macrumors 68040

    iW00t

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Defenders of Apple Guild
    #9
    Desolder 473 pins and then resolder in a Core 2 Duo chip? :)

    Well.. you were the one who said you were bored...
     
  10. stevo8 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
  11. XheartcoreboyX macrumors 6502a

    XheartcoreboyX

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    #11
    umm i dont think you can change the vcard..=\
     
  12. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #12
    Can not be upgraded - they are soldered into the logic board.

    If you are going to replace the HDD, then go for a 7200 rpm model- it should provide a nice performance boost. :)
     
  13. NJuul macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Location:
    Boston
    #13
    You could also try and find a new wireless draft-n card. It would give you an extended wireless range and greater speed when connecting to a draft-n router.
    Guide.
     

Share This Page