What to do...

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by LIESMA, May 17, 2010.

  1. LIESMA macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    #1
    i tried to put windows on my mac book, and it seemed all so easy on internet to do!
    but then i tried i got this message,
    checked my disk and its allready mac os extended journaled, so i dont know what to do next and i wouldn't like to format my mac, cause i have diploma work coming up
    i need windows to use 3d max!!!
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    Are you willing to run it under BootCamp or under virtualization software? Just open BootCamp Assistant and it'll do what you want
     
  3. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #3
    Just to clarify for the OP.

    Running Windows via a BootCamp partition, will allow you to run Windows natively. You boot right into Windows. BootCamp Assistant is used to set up your BootCamp partition which is where you will install Windows.

    Virtualization allows you to run your Windows of choice in a virtual environment. Two popular apps for this are Parallels and VMware Fusion.

    If you need Microsoft Office type speed, then the virtual solution will probably work. If you need faster response, then BootCamp may be the better choice.
     
  4. LIESMA thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    #4
    i need windows just for 3dmax, so i dont know best solution
    but i cant get any father with bootcamp, if i dont format my disk
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #5
    You don't have enough space for BootCamp (only 33GB left). Free up some space to get at least 50GB, then try again
     
  6. LIESMA thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
  7. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #7
    Very likely yes. It can't move files due lack of space. Free up some space and try again
     
  8. LIESMA thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
  9. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #9
    Where you able to get it to work?
     

Share This Page