What to get with my first Mac - MBP 15"

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Scarecrow01, Jun 12, 2009.

1. Scarecrow01 macrumors newbie

Been lurking around this site for a good month or two, found it to be very good for information on everything Mac.

I'm finally converting and about to buy my first Mac, I'm going for the high end MBP 15".

I study part time and have just signed up as a Student Apple Dev, so that going to give me a very nice discount on the price!!

I have limited experience with Mac's due to day to day dealings with them at work, Installing Printer drivers and setting up sharing is the limit of it though, I can navigate my way around what I need to to get my job done, but don't know a lot of the rest of it.

What I want to ask is, what would you recommend getting with a new system,
    Should I go for the usual stuff like a case/shell, or keyboard covers?
    In terms of software, whats good to start off with?
    I do want to Dual boot it with some form of windows as well, what is the "better" software for virtualisation?

Thanks in advance for the advice.
    I can't wait to confirm my order and start into it!!:D:D

2. kornyboy macrumors 68000

Wirelessly posted (iPhone: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 2_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/525.18.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/5H11 Safari/525.20)

I'd use Boot Camp since it comes free with every intel Mac and I'm pretty cheap. You will just have to get your own version of Windows. If you want Windows to run at the same time as OSX, go with either Parallels or VM Fusion. They both work well. Hope this helps.

3. MacDawg macrumors P6

MacDawg

4. windywoo macrumors 6502a

windywoo

Get a nice bag to keep it safe from scratches. Get a USB toaster or some equally pointless gadget just because you can.

5. Scarecrow01 thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks for that, those ares are very good.

Is it worth getting the 7200rpm HDD over the 5000rpm?