Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

lanervoza

macrumors member
Original poster
Aug 8, 2007
Like many others, I'm trying to find myself a good first camera, but I'm having trouble wading through a lot of the acronyms and numbers that don't mean too much to me now.

Is there a good web-resource for something like this?

Basically, I grabbed a couple of models off of threads here, the canon HV-20 and XH A1 and googled them.

The XH is significantly more expensive, and some of the numbers are different, but some are different in ways I wouldn't expect. The HV-20 has a 2.9ish MP sensor where the XH has 1.7ish. There are plenty of other differences too perhaps more congruent with my expectations, but that stuck out and suggested to me that I may need to find a good something to read.

I'm more or less wondering if I should bother going "big" with my first camera purchase. I'm a musician and have found that buying mid-grade stuff eventually costs more because it will eventually be replaced, but I also don't want to be overwhelmed.

Thanks for any direction,

Alex

bigbossbmb

macrumors 68000
Jul 1, 2004
Pasadena/Hollywood
What are you going to use the camera for? What kind of controls do you want on the camera? What's your budget? Do you need HD? If you post what you need *very specifically* then people on this forum can help.

Spritey

macrumors regular
Sep 22, 2006
Canada/Norway/USA