what to update with ? combo or regular ?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by giladavni, Mar 21, 2011.

  1. giladavni macrumors member

    giladavni

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    #1
    i'm new with the mac and i was wonder if to update to 10.6.7 with combo or regular ?


    13" MBP 2011.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. superericla macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    #2
    Just use whatever update software update gives you. There's no need to download the combo update.
     
  3. BlaqkAudio macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #3
    Regular. Combo updates are if you're not at the latest update already (eg. you want to update from 10.6.0 to 10.6.7).

    EDIT: You should also just update using Software Update. Apple released a special build for the early 2011 MBPs.
     
  4. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
    Extra crispy! :D (Regular is fine. Just use Software Update and install what it tells you.)
     
  5. lurrego macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    #5
    ? all you had to do was click on software update and it'll tell you what you need...:rolleyes:
     
  6. giladavni thread starter macrumors member

    giladavni

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    #6
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; he-il) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148a Safari/6533.18.5)

    Are you sure ? I seen in a lot of places people that are saying that the combo is safer or something like that :). So you sure
    ?
     
  7. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #7
    Very sure. Software Update checks what updates are needed for your particular computer. Just let it do what it does.
     
  8. 19abby macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    #8
    why bother....jus let the regular software update do its work...
     
  9. giladavni thread starter macrumors member

    giladavni

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
  10. edifyingGerbil macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    #10
    While we're on the subject, might anyone know why software update said there are currently no updates available for my machine?

    Could it be because I'm in the UK?
     
  11. BlaqkAudio macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #11
    Quite possibly. Each country probably has their own update server, and it's possible the UK's hasn't been updated yet.
     
  12. 19abby macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    #12
    well @edifyingGerbil i am in uk and i just got my update.
     
  13. Mik3F macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    #13
    I'm in the UK too and got my update around 3 hours ago
     
  14. edifyingGerbil macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    #14
    i did a reboot and it magically appeared lol

    how odd, but it's coming now, albeit slowly (using my iphone as a hotspot)
     

Share This Page