WHAT TO UPGRADE ON NEWLY PURCHASED 2012 cMBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by servenvolley, Jun 17, 2017.

1. servenvolley macrumors newbie

I bought this computer for my 12 year old son:

Originally released June 2012
    13.3-inch (diagonal) LED-backlit glossy widescreen display, 1280-by-800 resolution
    4GB (2 x 2GB) of 1600MHz DDR3 SDRAM
    500GB Serial ATA @ 5400 rpm
    8x double-layer SuperDrive (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW)
    Intel HD Graphics 4000

He insisted on a DVD player.
    He is also taking pilot lessons and uses some piloting software, that so far, seems to work okay on the computer. Otherwise, very light workload.
    I was thinking of upping the ram to 8gb and I was wondering if there is anything else I should do to it to keep it up to date.
    I'm a writer and publisher by trade and I have found that I love the keyboard on this thing.
    For this reason, I am even considering using it myself in the future if I can make it last.
    Any suggestions would be much appreciated.

2. servenvolley thread starter macrumors newbie

3. logicstudiouser macrumors 6502

logicstudiouser

8GB is enough. Down the line if he wants to upgrade, he has that option to go to 16gb. Yes, both the hard drive and ram are user replaceable. OWC has easy to follow video demonstrations.

4. servenvolley thread starter macrumors newbie

I tried looking this up and was overwhelmed by all the different answers.
    You guys just made this very easy. Thanks, I appreciate it.

5. Fancuku macrumors 6502a

Fancuku

The best upgrade would be to return it and buy a 13" retina MBP. :D

6. treekram macrumors 6502a