What voltage RMA can the new MacPro use?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by SolidGun, Jun 19, 2009.

  1. SolidGun macrumors 6502

    SolidGun

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Location:
    Twin Cities
    #1
    I am thinking of purchasing RAM that lists 1.9V. Just curious as I do not know the spec for mac pro.

    Any input would help. Thank you.
     
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    Just by from Crucial or OWC only. It's safer, as you know the RAM works.
     
  3. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #3
    1.5V in the '09' MP's or any other Nehalem based system. :)

    Skip the 1.9V parts.
     
  4. Gonk42 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    near Cambridge
    #4
    The memory controllers in the Nahalem Xeons in the Mac Pro are potentially damaged by high voltages (above about 1.65V I think). I presume that the Mac Pro wouldn't apply the higher voltage but I wouldn't risk it. Stick with 1.5V.
     
  5. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #5
    The Voltage Regs would give 1.5V, and the memory can take 1.65V without damage. Using the 1.9V variety wouldn't burn up anything, it just wouldn't work, as it's not getting enough power.

    If it were getting 1.9V though, it's output would damage the Integrated Memory Controller on the CPU. :eek: Either way, you wouldn't want to use it. ;) :p
     

Share This Page