What will a 150M connection do to my ATV?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by jwolf6589, Apr 22, 2018.

  1. jwolf6589 macrumors 65816

    jwolf6589

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Location:
    Colorado
    #1
    I am moving to a new residence next week with a 150 Megabits or higher WIFI connection. Presently I am living in a residence with a 40M connection. How will my ATV 3 benefit from this new download speed? I hardly experience buffering issues presently and movies seem to play back just fine.
     
  2. techwarrior macrumors 65816

    techwarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #2
    Probably no real impact. ATV3 will stream at 1080 mx, so around 5Mbps, maybe as high as 10Mbps. So, your 40Mbps connection is more than adequate.

    You reference your WiFi connection. not sure what you mean by this.

    Your internet speeds are influenced by two things. The ISP speed (Comcast, Century Link, etc.), and your internal WiFi. For most of us, the ISP is the slowest link and this is what I assume you reference. This is a wired link usually. Once connected to your ISP, it is up to you and your equipment used to create a WiFi using either the modem\router your ISP leases to you, or your own equipment. This will generally be faster than the 150Mbps as 802.11n (pretty old WiFi tech) can do something in the range of 150-450Mbps, and 802.11c much faster (up to 1300-1700Mbps). But, no matter how fast your WiFi is, your ISP connection will dictate streaming speeds for internet sources.

    Buffering is more likely to be local WiFi performance than iSP service level. if you use 2.4Gh WiFi, interference is common. 5Ghz, despite a shorter range is less susceptible to interference and may reduce buffering.
     
  3. thisismyusername macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    #3
    You won't see any difference. Streaming doesn't require much bandwidth at all. I went from 20Mbit to gigabit and there's no difference when it comes to streaming.

    The only times you'll notice a difference is when downloading large files (e.g. games, software updates). That's when having a faster internet connection can really be noticeable.
     
  4. jwolf6589 thread starter macrumors 65816

    jwolf6589

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Location:
    Colorado
    #4

    A very helpful post thank you.
    --- Post Merged, Apr 22, 2018 ---
    I guess when I update iOS and Mac OS I will notice a difference.
     
  5. techwarrior macrumors 65816

    techwarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #5
    Right, larger files that you download will tend to finish sooner with a faster ISP service. But, aside from that, streaming media probably won't make a difference. If you continue to have stuttering\buffering, look at your WiFi.
     
  6. jwolf6589 thread starter macrumors 65816

    jwolf6589

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Location:
    Colorado
    #6
    Every once in a while I need to reboot my ATV3 but for the most part it works just fine. I do not wish to upgrade to a later unit as I like a remote that lasts a long time and would really hate that SIRI remote and having to recharge it constantly.
     
  7. chrfr macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #7
    While I'm no fan of the Siri remote on the Apple TV 4/4k, I've had the 4 since release day in October 2015, and I bet I haven't charged the remote more than 4 times since then. It definitely doesn't require constant recharging.
     
  8. jwolf6589 thread starter macrumors 65816

    jwolf6589

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Location:
    Colorado
    #8
    Guess how many times I have had to replace the batteries on my remote since I purchased it in November of 2016?
     
  9. techwarrior macrumors 65816

    techwarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #9
    Maybe once if you use it a lot.

    ATV3 remote certainly last a long time, but charging Siri remote is similar to charging an iPhone via lightning cable, and may be better for the environment. ATV4+ alerts you with a little pop up when the remote is down to 20% charge. When you see that, continue your session, then pop the remote on a charger when done for the day. It only takes 1-2 hours to fully recharge. Even if it disconnects due to lack of charge, the AppleTV Remote App for iOS can replace the remote with virtually no loss of functionality (actually improved in areas like typing long strings).

    I still have an ATV3, mainly for Airplay. ATV4 is my main staple for both of my TV at home, everything I watch is through ATV4 and I only have to charge remotes about 2x per year.

    While not officially supported, you can pair the old ATV3 remote to an ATV4\4k. You will lose the Siri functionality, but still have the familiar remote functionality. The old remote requires IR (line of site) to control ATV. But the Siri remote uses bluetooth, so line of site in not required (though the Siri Remote has an IR sensor so it can be used to control other devices as well).

    There are so many reasons to choose ATV4\4K over ATV3, the remote should probably not be the deciding factor.
     
  10. jwolf6589 thread starter macrumors 65816

    jwolf6589

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Location:
    Colorado
    #10
    Nope I have not changed my remote batteries one time and I use my ATV all the time. I am aware of the later models but they do not offer anything that I want as I am content with the Atv3. What’s so big about the ATV 4?
     
  11. techwarrior macrumors 65816

    techwarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #11
    Apps, lots of apps. You pickem!

    For me, ATV4 combines the best of what ATV3 offers, but the App Store opens up hundreds of thousands of choices. I got rid of cable\sat service several years ago, putting an antenna on the roof. I then put a Tablo 4 tuner DVR box on the antenna and put the Tablo app on both ATV4. So, I stream local content over my WiFi, and DVR when needed. Most new content will come out for ATV4 and later, and I wouldn't be surprised if some ATV3 content started to wither away as devs focus on the newer platform.

    If you are happy with ATV3, great. I took your comment to mean you were passing on ATV4 because of the Siri remote, which if you are interested in all the other apps is kind of silly to held yourself back for the remote.
     
  12. jwolf6589 thread starter macrumors 65816

    jwolf6589

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Location:
    Colorado
    #12
    I don’t care about the apps as I have cable but if what you say is true the ATV3 content starts to phase away and it no longer works I may be forced to upgrade.
     
  13. kylew1212 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2017
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL
    #13
    Not trying to sell you an an AppleTV 4, but the remote battery life is great. I've had mine since release day 2015 as well and I've charged my remote no more than 3 times if that many.
     
  14. Mrbobb macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    #14
    U can have more simultaneous users that's about it.
     
  15. HobeSoundDarryl, May 1, 2018
    Last edited: May 1, 2018

    HobeSoundDarryl macrumors 604

    HobeSoundDarryl

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Location:
    Hobe Sound, FL (20 miles north of Palm Beach)
    #15
    OP, Since you have cable, one great app with the "4" or "5" is Channels. Paired with Silicon Dust boxes- including the Prime- which works with Cable's CableCard. The Channels app will mostly replicate your CableTV on-screen service, channel playback, all-in-one-place programming grid, etc EXCEPT it uses :apple:TVs as the cable box instead of leasing 1+ boxes around your home. If you like DVR service, Channels has a $8/month DVR service that lets you choose how much storage you want (which can be more than ANY hardware DVR product on the market if you like). The DVR service works with ALL of the TVs in the home and they share the same storage (one $8 fee connects 'em all).

    The point: keep your cable service but get rid of box lease fees. Feed cable to up to every TV in the house (just attach an :apple:TV4 or 5 to be their "boxes.")

    Access to local HD channels via antenna? Put a Silicon Dust HDHomeRun box in place and Channels will merge those local channels into the on-screen grid too.

    These options will get you real HD, real 5.1 surround sound and won't burn a byte against any broadband cap. It's a really great option for us :apple:TV users... kind of cutting the (bulk of the) cord ("ripoff" costs) without fully cutting the cord and making the many compromises that people take on for doing that (like giving up on real surround sound, and virtual DVRs are not equal to hardware DVRs yet, etc).
     
  16. Snoopy4 macrumors 6502a

    Snoopy4

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    #16
    Hit pause and watch the light grey bar. That’ll give you the answer. We have fiber and 1Gig to the house and Gig switches. It’s blistering. It was the first time I realized ATV can buffer a whole movie to the unit.
     
  17. G5isAlive macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    #17
    Saying you don’t care about apps because you have cable is a lot like you don’t care about digital music because you have cassettes. Its great if your only concern is your remote battery life but don’t discount what you don’t know. Since I have put in place an Apple TV 4k with homerun I haven’t touched or missed my cable box. Its dusty like my collection of cassetttes.

    Oh and yeah, 4k is great.

    Back to your original question, the only difference in streaming besides that noted... is simultaneous streaming... the more bandwidth the more simultaneous streaming but i am going out on a limb and guess that’s not a big concern.
     
  18. jwolf6589 thread starter macrumors 65816

    jwolf6589

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Location:
    Colorado
    #18
    Things get expensive. I cant afford a 4K TV at this time. So what is so big about the 4 & 4K Apple TV compared to the 3 Apple TV? The 3 has a number of apps that came with the unit that seems to fit my needs nicely. However its missing apps like FoxNews, but no matter I get that on Cable.
     
  19. G5isAlive macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    #19
    Budget is perhaps the best reason to sit tight. But Fox News app is not like Fox News channel...sure I can use a news app to stream live, so no different maybe, but most news apps also break up stories so I can jump right into the particular news story I’m interested in. Apps work so much better then ‘on demand’...not to mention channels you may not have.. games..and the overall system is faster... shrugs. Sooner or later your atv3 will be obsoleted, experience the future... today lol
     
  20. jwolf6589 thread starter macrumors 65816

    jwolf6589

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Location:
    Colorado
    #20
    Apple just made the ATV1 not work with iTunes but it will be little while yet till this happens to the 3.
     
  21. HobeSoundDarryl, May 6, 2018
    Last edited: May 6, 2018

    HobeSoundDarryl macrumors 604

    HobeSoundDarryl

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Location:
    Hobe Sound, FL (20 miles north of Palm Beach)
    #21
    OP, don't be pressured by "keep up with the Joneses" technical arguments. If you are happy with what you have, enjoy... and enjoy keeping any spare cash in your pocket too.

    That said though, I thought I read- perhaps in another thread- that you have Comcast as cable provider. That's what I have too. And in the interests of a "money is tight" scenario, I'll point you again back to my post #15. While there's some hardware to buy to make that go, you can weigh the one-time cost of those options against whatever you might be paying for leased boxes from Comcast. Those box costs can add up quickly.

    Refurb or used :apple:TV4 (or maybe the DirecTV now deal for a 4K- approx. $105) + a refurb Silicon Dust HDHomeRunPrime box (<$100) can prove cheaper than $8-$15+ cable box lease fees over approx. 10-20 or so months. And once you cross that break-even hurdle, it's much cheaper to keep watching Comcast via your :apple:TV(s).

    No pressure here- just offering you an idea that might save you some money AND get you a newer :apple:TV too. I am delighted with using my :apple:TV(s) as THE cable box for Comcast cable service.

    Otherwise, the biggest reason to upgrade now or soon is any 1+ apps that you might really enjoy that will never come to the :apple:TV3.
     
  22. jwolf6589 thread starter macrumors 65816

    jwolf6589

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Location:
    Colorado
    #22
    Well if I paid for my cable this would be a good idea. However cable comes with the rent cost so I am not paying anything for cable.
     
  23. 3587 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    #23
    I just upgraded my NETGEAR C6300 modem ($180), since Comcast said they no longer supported it, to a NETGEAR C7800 ($400)... I also upgraded all my Ethernet cables from CAT-5 to CAT-6a... Needless to say... I've seen very little improvement... Maybe slightly faster response times of pages to load on websites... Not worth the price I paid for everything. Don't believe the hype!
     

Share This Page