Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

The Cockney Rebel

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Nov 16, 2018
For me, I've decided to teach myself to code (just started a free course on Udemy.)

My 2008 iMac is just way too slow, and I just tried to install Xcode but it wouldn't let me install the additional components needed. Thus, I needed a new machine.

If anyone has any tips for me, they'd be welcomed (I am a complete beginner.)

What about you? What will you be using your M1 Mac for?

Intrigue me ...

alien3dx

macrumors 68020
Feb 12, 2017
For me, I've decided to teach myself to code (just started a free course on Udemy.)

My 2008 iMac is just way too slow, and I just tried to install Xcode but it wouldn't let me install the additional components needed. Thus, I needed a new machine.

Intrigue me ...
a developer here, will be purchase m1 macbook when available in my country.

macbook m1 for :

1. Easy to show customer product /solution / demo.
(work horse still old imac 2017 16 gb 486 external ssd boot (secure then t2 whatever any problem)
2. macbook m1 travel editing code. Will resell my huawei d5 to subsidze m1 maybe or let see or become a demo for android development ( m1 doesnt have android emulator so pretty bad)
3. a second backup if anything happen imac 2017( just repair power supply)
4. I do web custom apps,mobile apps (php,java,swift)
5. I love keychain kinda weird movin back to windows :(
** not youtuber so i dont do alll those benchmark weirdness .

Reactions: The Cockney Rebel

The Cockney Rebel

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Nov 16, 2018
a developer here, will be purchase m1 macbook when available in my country.

macbook m1 for :

1. Easy to show customer product /solution / demo.
(work horse still old imac 2017 16 gb 486 external ssd boot (secure then t2 whatever any problem)