What Windows Version Do I Need?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Shwagga, Nov 12, 2009.

  1. Shwagga macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    #1
    This is kind of long, but I'm trying to be as specific as possible.


    Here is my computer: http://www.macworld.com/product/hardware/141/detail.html

    Will a Windows XP Service Pack 3 32-bit work with Bootcamp?

    I've had Windows Vista Home Premium 64-bit installed on this Mac before, and it had nothing but problems. I couldn't get sound, even though the settings and everything said it was enabled and working, and etc. But, more importantly, games would run bad on it.
    I got Diablo 2 running (256 color game) on it, but the colors were terribly messed up. I'm wondering if this problem was due to the fact my Windows copy wasn't genuine (it was a copy of Windows that came with my mom's computer), if it was because that version was 64-bit, or if it was from my drivers (because there is a problem with these drivers supporting 256 color on the Mac OS).

    I've got the AppleIntelGMAX3100 video drivers, and they won't let me run Diablo 2 on my Mac side. On Windows, it'll let me run it, but I'm not sure if they cause the discoloration or not.

    Also, when I put in my Leopard disks to update the drivers on Vista, it wouldn't do anything at all. I even tried to open it from My Computer, and it still wouldn't do anything. By "not doing anything," I mean that no window would come up or anything. Could that be the result of the discoloration and sound not working?

    However, I did go to the Intel site and upgraded my drivers from there. Not sure if that does anything, but I just figured I'd mention it.

    So, yeah.
    Can somebody tell me what Windows version I should get, and what those problems were from? If those problems were from my drivers, then I don't want to waste money on buying a Windows disk.

    Many thanks.
     
  2. Shwagga thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    #2
    Also, would this version of Windows work?
    http://www.ecrater.com/product.php?pid=5278133#

    Does anybody know what bit it is? It doesn't say in the description, but maybe somebody knows by looking at it.

    Also, when they mean you need Windows XP SP2 32-bit, does that mean you need two disks (one for installing Windows, another for installing the service pack)? Or do they mean you need both on one disk, as linked above?
     
  3. jzuena macrumors 6502a

    jzuena

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Location:
    Lexington, MA, USA
    #3
    I can't see whether it is the 32 or 64 bit version, either, but with XP it is most likely 32-bit unless specifically mentioned as being 64-bit. You only need one disk for install, but the disk must have Service Pack 2 or higher already on it. Bootcamp should have all of the XP drivers you need.
     
  4. Shwagga thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    #4
    Thank you very much.

    Do you know if my GMAX3100 drivers are what messed the colors up on Diablo 2 or not?
     
  5. jzuena macrumors 6502a

    jzuena

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Location:
    Lexington, MA, USA
    #5
    I suppose it could be. My last try of bootcamp was on an Intel GMA950-equipped mini. More likely it had something to do with Windows not being activated if it wasn't a legit version.
     
  6. Shwagga thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    #6
    Is there a way to tell what Windows is 64-bit, and what is 32-bit by looking at the box?
    Is it true that the box will 100% have an indication on it that it's 64-bit on the front cover? For example: Windows XP SP2 x64
     
  7. cjmillsnun macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    #7
    XP will have it on the box.

    Vista boxes are 32 bit by default, but you can ask for a 64 bit dvd and MS will send it.

    7 supplies both 32 and 64 bit dvds in the box.

    NB I am only talking about RETAIL. OEM is a different matter.
     

Share This Page