What Would I Use The Wi-Fi For?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by youashwag, Aug 17, 2007.

  1. youashwag macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    #1
    I know that the new Imacs have Wi-Fi built in but I was wondering what would be compatible with it?Would I be able to connect my Wii or DS to it since they both use 802.11g I think....
     
  2. thejadedmonkey macrumors 604

    thejadedmonkey

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    Pa
    #2
    Wi-fi is wireless. It'll connect to your Wii (pretty useless I think), DS, and a wireless router if you have one.
     
  3. Shadow macrumors 68000

    Shadow

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Location:
    Keele, United Kingdom
  4. docprego macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Location:
    Henderson, NV
    #4
    I thought it was awesome that my new iMac asked me if I wanted to connect to my wireless network the first time I booted it up. I was online in seconds! No cables! It is so convenient and the access speed is seemingly identical to my wired PC in the other room so I am going to leave it. And my router is 802.11g not N like the new Airport Extreme which I plan on upgrading to; should be even better!
     
  5. bowzer macrumors 6502

    bowzer

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #5
    There wouldnt really be a reason to connect to a Wii or DS... the point of wifi in the imacs is so you dont have to use an ethernet cable to connect to the internet/your home network.
     
  6. Angrist macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Location:
    MI or NJ
    #6
    Yea, but if you have a wired network hooked up to your Mac you can use the Airport to share that connection with the Wii. No wireless router needed.
     
  7. youashwag thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    #7
    So it would work with other game systems that have Wi-Fi also like 360 and PS3?
     
  8. Littleodie914 macrumors 68000

    Littleodie914

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #8
    It should. But again, connecting your iMac and video game console doesn't really have any advantages or purposes. Unless, you've got a DSL line coming into your Mac, and you want to share that connection wirelessly. :)
     
  9. youashwag thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    #9
    Well i have a cable modem connected to my iMac so should that work....
     
  10. sas76 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Location:
    Australia
    #10
    Connect 360 is a fantastic program to stream content between your mac and a xbox 360.It will stream iTunes, iPhoto and movies.

    It is about $20, but well worth it. Having my iPhoto library displayed on my 50" plasma is great. Beats getting everyone around the computer.

    Cheers
     
  11. youashwag thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    #11
    you have to pay.....y?wanna be able to go online with games so will i be able to do that?
     
  12. Zman5225 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Location:
    Tacoma WA
    #12
    you can use your wii hooked up via wifi as a wireless media server. Do some google searches for it.
     
  13. nlivo macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Location:
    Ballarat, Australia
    #13
    you can connect to a printer that is on the other side of the house, connect to the internet wirelessly, share your iTunes, iPhoto library and any other files on your computer wirelessly, you can share your screen or watch other computer screens wirelessly thats on your network. it is a huge advantage. if i didnt have wifi in my mac i would have to have everything stuffed into my tiny study.
     
  14. youashwag thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    #14
    how can i setup my iMac where i would be able to connect a Wii or other wireless device??
     
  15. ProstheticHead macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #15
    Personally, I live in a house with 3 other guys, we have a wireless network set up so that we don't have to track wires around our house. That's what I use the wifi for. Makes things a heck of a lot easier when there are no wires to worry about.
     
  16. youashwag thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    #16
    so i can use the wireless signal from my imac that is connected to the internet through a cable modem for online gaming.no need for a wireless router than right?
     
  17. Bobioden macrumors 68000

    Bobioden

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Location:
    Denver
    #17
    You have a wireless card in your iMac. The Wii also has a wireless card. You still need a Wireless router for them to work. With the wireless router, you can connect to the internet with your iMac, minus the Ethernet cable. Wirelessly. The same for the Wii. It will connect through the router, wirelessly. The iMac and the Wii will just share the connection from the router. So yes, you will still need a router. The Wii cannot connect using the iMac network card.
     
  18. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #18
    That's incorrect. A wired internet connection can be used to broadcast a signal via your Airport. Read below.

    Absolutely. If you have a wired connection to your Mac you can broadcast a signal out from the Mac via your Airport card (Wi-Fi card). You need to open System preferences>Sharing>Internet Sharing>Ethernet shared to Airport. I'm not sure on how good of range you'll get so I hope your Console is near your iMac.

    Note that you cannot use Wi-Fi for your iMac and share a wireless signal at the same time.

    I used this setup with my Nintendo DS for a long time. Works like a charm.
     
  19. youashwag thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    #19
    Ok coool but wat do u mean by that?Also would a Ipod Touch connect easil without a wireless router?
     
  20. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #20
    Duuuude. Start reading some manuals.

    Look up WiFi.

    YES, you can hook up an iMac via ethernet and then share that connection with airport to other wireless devices. Nearly all WiFi devices are the same nowadays, so yes, all of your WiFi enabled stuff can access the signal.
     
  21. sas76 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Location:
    Australia
    #21

    Not true at all
    Buy connect360 (about $20) and stream everything (vid's pic's and musiv) to your 360, well worth. No need for :apple:TV.

    Cheers
     
  22. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #22
    Simply you can't use your WiFi for internet on the computer AND share a wireless signal. It's either share a signal or use WiFi.
     
  23. notsofatjames macrumors 6502a

    notsofatjames

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    #23
    but by that comment, if he was connect to the internet on wi-fi, that would mean that his Wii/iPT or whatever would also be able to connect to the same wireless network as the iMac. If his iMac is getting the cable modem plugged in to it, then he/she can use the iMacs wireless as a wireless router, routing the internet connection from the cable modem, to the iMac, then wirelessly to anything that wants to connect to the iMac's network.

    Try looking on www.apple.com/support it always has handy tips on this sort of thing.

    EDIT: I think this article may help, but I haven't read all of it. http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?path=Mac/10.5/en/8156.html
     
  24. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #24
    I know this, but was adding more clarification for the OP. Just turn on internet sharing and you'll be set.
     
  25. xXriderXx7 macrumors 6502a

    xXriderXx7

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Location:
    Lake Elsinore, California
    #25
    I dont understand the reasoning behind all this. Besides Connect 360?

    To the OP?
    Did you just want to experiment with this for the sake of experimenting, or do you have a reason behind it?
     

Share This Page