What would YOU do? Top-End iMac or Baseline Mac Pro for the same price...

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by mattcube64, Mar 3, 2009.

1. mattcube64 macrumors 65816

mattcube64

Here's the deal. I need a Mac desktop for the major I'm in. I use a good deal of iMovie, Final Cut, Logic, etc... However, I also really like to play games. The 2600 in my current iMac just isn't cutting it anymore. And so, I'm thinking of selling it and upgrading.

Using the ADC store, I can get the baseline mac pro w/ 4870 for $2,259 after you factor in the cost of signing up for the program.

Or, using the education store, I can get the top-end iMac w/ 4850 for $2,144.

Or, finally, I can get the 2.93 iMac w/ 4850 for a bit less, at $1,879.

Basically, they all come out to *about* the same price. Nevertheless, I am a poor college student, and every dollar counts. So, going from the cheapest option to the Mac Pro is an additional $400 or so. Which, is certainly worth debating.

I'll be playing a good deal of current games, and I think the 4870 (and the MP in general) is more future proof, especially considering the iMac has a mobility chip.

I'm not looking for a definitive answer, but would like to hear some of your guys' opinions. I need to be swayed! :p

2. Rmafive macrumors 6502

For the best gaming I would chose the mac pro, but it does not come with a display. If you have an extra display sitting around then I would chose it, if not go with the top end iMac (which comes with a faster processor and faster HD). Good Luck! :D

3. mattcube64 thread starter macrumors 65816

mattcube64

Thanks for the suggestion!

I currently have a 24" Dell display hooked up to my iMac. I'd have to live with a single display for a little while, but I think it would be worth it.

4. 11800506 macrumors 65816