What would you do???

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by Mishika, Nov 21, 2010.

1. Mishika macrumors newbie

Hi guys,
    I was given a 3G iphone version 4.0.1
    The phone was JB and since the fist time I had it the apps occasionally quit by themselves.
    Lately the quitting has increased greatly and has become a real problem.
    I live in Spain so i need it unlocked to use my spanish sim card.

So i was wondering if restoring it on itunes would be a good idea. I do not need it to be jailbroken, just to work properly. But i do need it to be unlocked.

I'm a bit scared of doing it since I've heard is no good to restore JB phones and also i'm new to all this.

The phone was bought on the States over the internet so i have no idea which phone company was on originally.

What would you do in my place??? I'd appreciate any help!!!

2. g0rdhan, Nov 21, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2010

g0rdhan macrumors newbie

If you want it unlocked, it MUST be jailbroken.

Any phone thats from the USA, currently is from AT&T, so is yours.

Did you mean normal apps were quitting? Maybe you could just try restarting your phone.

If you want to restore the phone, I'd suggest backing up the phone right now, so you can reload your texts,calls,pictures etc after the restore.

edit: The 4.0.1 firmware on the iPhone3G is known to be quite slow and buggy. I had the same set up you did. If you want to restore the phone with 4.0.1 you'd have to
    1. download the 4.0.1 IPSW file from this website http://www.felixbruns.de/iPod/firmware/ and then find the 4.0.1 firmware for iPhone3G.
    2. Using sn0wbreeze jailbreak the phone
    3. Use ultrasn0w to unlock it.

Use this website as a guide http://www.iclarified.com/jailbreak/

3. Mishika thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks for replying g0rdhan
    I had it for only a couple of months so i'm not interested in keeping anything.