What would you recommend for a photographer/video editor

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by TylerCopey, Jun 6, 2014.

1. TylerCopey macrumors newbie

Hi, So I will be heading out to college this summer and I am looking for a new mac. I currently have an old 2009 iMac desktop that is past its time but has decently gotten the job done. I am looking at the two highest end 15" retina macbook pros. I've been doing video editing and photography for about 5 years now and I generally run all sorts of intensive adobe programs photoshop, after effects, etc along with final cut pro x. I may also be doing the occasional gaming and am not to worried about that.

So with the criteria above would you recommend the 2.3GHz with the dedicated graphics card or the lower end 2.0GHz without? I would prefer not to spend the money but if I'm going to get the second best it seems better just to pay the extra for the best.

If you would like to read over the exact specs here is a link:
    http://store.apple.com/us/buy-mac/m...ina+-+index-n@p&cp=k2-macbook pro+retina+-n@p

Thank you so much!

2. james1758 macrumors regular

james1758

2.0GHz = $1999
    2.3GHz = $2599

BUT the 2.0 has 256gb ssd & 8gb ram, whereas the 2.3 has 512gb ssd & 16gb ram as standard.

So, if you were to upgrade the 2.0 so it had the same size ssd and ram as the 2.3 then the 2.0 would cost $2499. A difference of $100!

So its just wether you would look for the 2.0 to have the same ram and ssd size, if you would want that then getting the 2.3 is a no brainer :)

Hope that made sense/ helped.

3. fig macrumors 6502a

fig

For the bump in RAM, CPU, and especially video card I'd go with the 2.3. Newer versions of Photoshop are putting more on the video card, and it never hurts to future proof.

If you look at a refurbished model you can probably find a 2.3 very close in price to your 2.0 with the same warranty.

4. MCAsan macrumors 601

MCAsan

5. yjchua95 macrumors 604