What year of MBP for Photoshop?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by tLustej.miCin, Sep 4, 2015.

1. tLustej.miCin macrumors newbie

Hi guys,

I am having a dilema right now. I am now at a stage when I managed to collect some money and I can buy myself a MBP. I need 15 inch screen. Or at least I think I need.

I am a photographer and I use Photoshop a lot. For the future use I will be using it for webdesign and coding. Now only for photography and compositing and some other uses of photoshop. I use Wacom tablet as well.

Now. I watched what brings 2015 MPB and the overall performance is not that huge compared to the 2014 versions. So I figured out I do not need ForceTouch - I really want a physical click response.

So I am thinking of buying a used 2013 version or new/used 2014 version.
    • I am not a gamer but I love some games like Dota2 and CS:GO(both based on Source/Source2 engine I guess).
    • I demand long battery life - well, here both 2013 and 2014 will fullfil my wish
    • I will carry it everywhere
    • I type with all ten fingers - keyboards are the same
    • I want Retina display - both do have it
    • Mainly used for Photoshop, then other Adobe Creative Suite apps - Lightroom, Premier, AfterEffects
    • Do both of them have PCIe based SSD unit? I found out PCIe is faster than SATA.
    I know, kind of a simple request which can be satisfied with both years (2013/2014). But speaking of future - I dont want to buy a new laptop for a long time. So the only reason why I am having this issue might be the graphics. Some of them have 2 graphic units, some have one.

So am I being way too detail-focused or does it make a big difference in Photoshop? I really need smooth zooming. I work with xxx Mb big PSD files. I only know it will run way better than on my current EliteBook 8560w i5, 4Gb, Win10, Samsung SSD.