Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

DingleButt

macrumors regular
Dec 14, 2011
Windows, for me, is the better and cheaper option than OS X+ Mac.

OS X + Macbook integration does have its benefits though and I did seriously consider it on my last purchase.

Macs havent gotten viruses but they get malware just like Windows (Which gets labelled as viruses in Windows) and its gotten worse.

Macs are much more expensive to repair. You could buy a new PC for the price of a basic Mac repair when out of warranty/Apple Care.

malman89

macrumors 68000
May 29, 2011
Michigan
Thought i would share this
http://www.technibble.com/top-5-myths-computer-repair-customers-believe-about-going-apple/

Although I'm not experienced enough to make any judgements,just to see what yous think..........

All seem like fair and valid points while trying to stay as centered as possible.

Macs havent gotten viruses but they get malware just like Windows (Which gets labelled as viruses in Windows) and its gotten worse.

This is a huge misconception by Macnuts today. I won't say rare, but it's much more unlikely one falls victim to scary trojans or viruses today as they fall to malware. And malware is starting to bloom on OSX. Remember the Mac Keeper/Defender stuff that so many idiots fell for that Apple had to issue a response? Even with pop ups disabled on my updated browsers (Firefox, Chrome), I see a pop up for Mac Keeper weekly on my work iMac.

----

I also really agree with the Apple costing less myth. I could buy any random $600 i5 Lenovo/HP/Dell and treat it well and have it last 5 years like this C2D MacBook has (though I would probably go something with more power for about $800-1,000 with better specs than the $2k 15" MBP). I had a HP Pavillion laptop for 4.5 years before this laptop and that worked wonderfully too.