What's best for the battery in the long run?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by kingston1987, Oct 24, 2016.

1. kingston1987 macrumors member

With the new rMBP coming out, I'm curious as to how to take better care of my hardware in the long run. Before I wrecked my 2015 rMBP, it had well over 500-600 cycle count which I found out after noticing that my battery life wasn't as long as before. I'm an university student that uses my laptop aggressively practically everyday. If not doing homework or writing papers I'm browsing the web or watching movies and shows on Netflix.

Through 1-2 year of ownership of that laptop, I have never once turned it off or restarted with exception of updates or letting it die out completely (which had happened countless times). It has always just been me turning the lid down either post lecture, or before bed.

I tried to google a solution as to the best way to preserve my battery and I've gotten both sides of pros of turning it off and on after each use versus just letting it go to sleep mode.

Also as for charging, is it bad to stop the charging before it hits 100%? Is it also bad to keep it charged all the time? How about letting it die all the way?

What are your thoughts on this based off of experience or knowledge?

Thanks

2. JTToft macrumors 68040

All in all, it doesn't really matter what you do.

3. T5BRICK macrumors 604

T5BRICK

Charge it when you can, run it from the battery when you need to. No matter what you do, it'll last from 3-5 years.

4. prisstratton macrumors 6502

prisstratton

One thing you do not need to do is to run it down to zero before recharging. This was more important with older technologies like NiMH, but is not beneficial with Li-ion.