Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Sammis89

macrumors regular
Original poster
May 30, 2005
Hey Guys. IM an aspiring musician, with some solo stuff and a band. I was wondering whether a 14'' iBook or 15'' Power Book would be better for recording demos and also school work. Besides garage band, ill basically jsut be surfing the web, using word, powerpoint, excel, iTunes, and watching movies. I know the price difference is pretty big, but im wonderng what you guys suggest. Also, if anyone has any advice for what i need for recording (hardware, cables, mics, power, whatever) itd be greatly appreciated. Thanks!!!

hyperpasta

macrumors 6502a
Aug 1, 2005
New Jersey
iBook

Hello and Welcome to Apple! lol

It really depends. If you're using only Garageband, a 14" iBook bumped to 1GB of RAM will work pretty well. If you're using Logic or something big and professional, then the Powerbook will probably serve you better. There is of course, also the issue of money. If you can afford the Powerbook, consider it on the basis of design, quality, and extra features. But it sounds like overkill in the power department for what you are doing.

CanadaRAM

macrumors G5
You'll want to consider how much to spend ou outboard equipment. USB Audio interfaces start at $59 and up, Firewire ones (which woudl be preferable) from about $300. Either the interface will have to have microphone preamps, or you will need ann outboard mixer.

Search here for several threads with much information.

jimjiminyjim

macrumors 6502
Feb 24, 2003
Canada
homerjward said:
iirc the ibooks don't have audio in, if that would affect your decision.

right, but if you're going low end software/other hardware solution, all you need is griffin's iMic to get 1/8 audio in via USB.

If you're going higher end, you'll either be using firewire or USB in, and so again, it won't matter.