What's deleted when deleting a user?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by rye9, Mar 26, 2016.

  1. rye9, Mar 26, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2016

    rye9 macrumors 65816

    rye9

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Location:
    New York (not NYC)
    #1
    So, I was having some issues the other day and the Genius bar suggested I make a new user account and manually restore my files, rather than using Migration Assistant... so I deleted the user and plugged in my external HD to restore the files in the Desktop, Documents, Pictures, Music, etc. folders.

    However, I also noticed that there's about 8GB more available now than before... so what is the 8GB that I didn't restore?

    (My issue was that upon entering fullscreen video in Youtube, etc... about 10% of the time it would cause my rMBP to spontaneously restart)

    Edit: I might have found it on my own actually... perhaps my iPhone backup? No longer listed under iTunes in the Devices under preferences...
     
  2. bcave098 macrumors 6502a

    bcave098

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Location:
    Northern British Columbia
    #2
    Most likely the Library folder, which (as you suggested) includes iOS backups from iTunes.
     

Share This Page