Whats in your crop?

Discussion in 'Distributed Computing' started by DeSnousa, Jun 24, 2008.

  1. DeSnousa macrumors 68000

    DeSnousa

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #1
    Hey guys, I've just recently began folding again :)

    Thought it would be good to start a thread on what setups you guys have with F@H.

    I have 2 computers, P4 2.8ghz and a P4 3ghz HT. I reckon I will be able to get a good 200+ points a day.

    So what is in your crop?

    BTW I'm folding as Snousa as I have stuffed up DeSnousa :)
     
  2. 4JNA macrumors 68000

    4JNA

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Location:
    looking for trash files
    #2
    welcome back!

    changes all the time as hardware comes and goes... most stable bits are a mac pro, a mac mini, a ps3, and a E6700 (c2d @ 2.66ghz) in a file server that folds 24/7.

    summer is on the way in here, so we'll see how long they all keep folding.
     
  3. gotzero macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Location:
    Mid-Atlantic, US
    #3
    PS3: Bought it broken, I do not play games. It folds 24/7.

    Mac Mini: My home desktop, folding is on 24/7 as the computer is on all the time for remoting as needed. Probably used 2-3 hours a day for other tasks.

    MB and MPB: Make occasional appearances if I am not going to use/move one for a couple of days. I do not like the sounds coming from either of them at 100% load. Both run the SMP client, so it is a pretty big commitment to get WU's out of my mobile computers.
     
  4. benpatient macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    #4
    Hey guys. I still have one system from my last job (12 months gone!) reporting in, a dual 1.8 G5 that gets a good 100-150 points a day.

    I just turned my octo 2.8ghz MP on to the task. I did the graphical client and it started up just fine. Is it only supposed to run 4 cores at 100%? Because that's all I'm seeing. Even with that, I've done over 3500 points in the last 24 hours! So I think I'll be climbing back up the charts again around here. I was in the top 20 back when macrumors team was cracking the top 20...

    fun fun.
     
  5. gotzero macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Location:
    Mid-Atlantic, US
    #5
    I think you need to run two for an 8-core machine.
     
  6. mc68k macrumors 68000

    mc68k

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    #6
    e8200@3.65ghz is my main guy

    running 10.5.4
     

    Attached Files:

  7. 4JNA macrumors 68000

    4JNA

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Location:
    looking for trash files
    #7
    wow, badass! love the cpu cooler, do you run the fan fast or can it handle the OC as stock?

    also like the backside cooler on the video card. i have wondered for 10 years or more why the hell most cards dump the heat below the card so it stays right next to the card instead of getting exhausted... :confused:

    nice rig. :)
     
  8. benpatient macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    #8
    doesn't it say specifically not to do that on the FAH site?
     
  9. 4JNA macrumors 68000

    4JNA

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Location:
    looking for trash files
    #9
    yeah, that's the official stanford line. the reason is that running more than 1 client causes a delay. that is, 1 client is going to finish a step in 11 minutes, and running 2 clients, each step is up to 13-15 minutes depending on the work unit. so each work unit now takes 5+ hours longer to finish. slows down the science is the phrase i hear repeated. you care about points, they care about returned/completed work units. can't we all just get along? :rolleyes:

    with that said, you can use increase to run 1, 2, or more clients on your box. one thread (can't remember where) a guy with your system is running 3 clients with no problem, but i remember him having a crap load of memory in the system, and don't know if that matters.

    HERE to download or read more. i don't have anything with 8 so no knowledge, but it's in the folding wiki and on several of the boards, people running it with success. best of luck.

    EDIT: forgot to mention, the next SMP beta is supposed to have the ability to span all system cores. that is run 1 client and engage 4, 8, 16 or more cores. should be something to see if they get it working!
     
  10. MacBandit macrumors 604

    MacBandit

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    Location:
    Springfield, OR (Home of the Simpsons)
    #10
    I run a PS3 nearly 24/7 except the hours I'm watching a Blu-Ray or playing a game. Also I run a MacBook C2Duo 2GHz about 20 hours a day. The MacBook is good for about 900 points/day on average and the PS3 is good for about a 1000 points/day on average.
     
  11. mc68k macrumors 68000

    mc68k

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    #11
    thanks!

    here's a few more pics. the whole rigs pretty well ventilated, 2x120mm up front, 120mm in back, 200mm on top, 120mm on CPU, 120 on power supply (and even room for 2 more 120mm!)

    i ran smp folding on it for a step, the CPU Fan leveled at 644RPM, not too bad. it probably could handle the OC w/o the fan, but i wouldn't run it that way folding 24/7

    sorry for the shïtty quality, it's from my camera phone
     

    Attached Files:

  12. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
    #12
    2x PS3
    2x intel imac
    1x powermac g5 dual 2.0GHz
    3x fulltime PCs
    3x part-time PCs (@nights & on weekends)
    1x not sure
     
  13. iShater macrumors 604

    iShater

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #13
    Geez, some real powerhouses working the numbers around here! :eek:

    PB G4 1.5 folding whenever I use it.
    CD2 PC @ 3Ghz
    CD IMac @ 2.0 Ghz

    I thought about resurrecting my PPro200 PC to fold, but didn't think it will add that much overall.


    Can you imagine if Apple ran F@H at their stores for like one week? :eek:
     
  14. DeSnousa thread starter macrumors 68000

    DeSnousa

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
  15. Spikeanator6982 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    #15
    I have 3 clients running on my MP 2.8 8 core. works pretty darn good. I always thought stanford recommended one client per 4 core processor, hence saying go with 2 clients on a 8 core Mac Pro, but I looked a bit, and didn't see it, but I swear I have.

    Running more than one client shouldn't bother them a bit as long as you finish the WU by the preferred date. which you can with 3.
     
  16. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #16
    During the SETI 1 days, I had 20-25 computers working.

    If memory serves, I stopped after reaching 12,000 WU's. I do have a copy of completion of my 11,111 WU.

    It was fun, then they switched to SETI 2 and I lost interest. Now I have only a few computers that I could use, but with electricity costs these days, I probably won't start up again with any of them.

    Of course if there was some sort of compensation, that might change my perspective. Although, I don't see that happening (the compensation part).
     
  17. 4JNA macrumors 68000

    4JNA

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Location:
    looking for trash files
    #17
    the current SMP beta is coded for 4 cores, so that might be what you are thinking of. the next (due out ?) is supposed to span all available cores, and should really fly if they get it working, especially on systems like yours.

    the 'more than one' client thing from their side just comes down to science and serial computing (one out, one in). the faster they send wu's and receive results from each specific client, the faster the project goes. i agree with you, and i also run multiples on a few boxes. if i can meet or beat the preferred deadline, it's all good. just figured i would chime in with the official line and the reason behind it since someone asked.

    all folding is good folding!
     
  18. Spikeanator6982 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    #18
    i REALLY wish my 8800 GT could be folding under OS X....
     
  19. 4JNA macrumors 68000

    4JNA

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Location:
    looking for trash files
    #19
    THIS does not look good. :( sorry!

    couple smp's, a gpu, and you would rule the planet!
     
  20. mike12806 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #20
    2.16 C2D imac, and an AMD Athlon 2600+ XP system (Don't know CPU speed!)
     
  21. MacBandit macrumors 604

    MacBandit

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    Location:
    Springfield, OR (Home of the Simpsons)
    #21
    Maybe under os x 10.6.
     
  22. mc68k macrumors 68000

    mc68k

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    #22
    this small program will tell you CPU speed, plus a lot of other useful info like cache, voltage, and memory timings

    http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php
     
  23. SciFrog macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    #23
    Small introduction: I just switched from another mac team that is getting nowhere and it looks like here could use some help in Folding. There are many new heavy hitting teams that have cropped up in Folding in the last months, this team will need to scale up a lot if it wants to resist. My contrbution will help (ie top 5 cruncher of the team within the week hopefully ;) ). I have been Folding for five years.

    Setup (24/7):

    iMac 2.16Ghz
    MacBook 2.0Ghz
    Mac Mini 2.0Ghz
    MacBook Air 1.6Ghz

    All crunching basically 24/7.

    I also have four G4 PPC but not worth to run them anymore since the Intel SMP clients are so fast.

    I hope to bring an 8 core Mac Pro to replace the iMac at some point, but not sure I really need it. Maybe it will be a 4 core iMac instead. A PS3 would help nicely although I don't do games (no time).

    My biggest gripe with Folding: many units lost just by stopping the restarting the client for software intalls or such. Really annoying, didn't found a solution yet. Maybe stopping the fah6 client in "Acivity Monitor" isn't the right way to do but I don't know any other way (console client).
     
  24. mc68k macrumors 68000

    mc68k

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    #24
    ^ thx for joining! looks like you have a lot of power there.

    the way i usually stop the client is with control-c in the terminal window. after the crtl-c, it usually gives some shutting down commands. i am not sure if activity monitor gives it the right stop signal. i haven't had too many problems with the ctrl-c method. there is also the kill command but that may be less graceful (?)
     
  25. SciFrog macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    #25
    I close the terminal window after launching the program, so no ctrl-c possible...
     

Share This Page