What's making the 3G so much harder to unlock?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by lavrishevo, Sep 24, 2008.

  1. lavrishevo macrumors 68000

    lavrishevo

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    #1
    I wonder what Apple did to make the iPhone 3G so much harder for the DEV team to come up with a software unlock. I do know the firmware has been updated constantly but they have not broken the code for any of the firmwares. What's making the 3G so much more difficult?
     
  2. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #2
    The hardware is different and may have a different way to flash the comm chip that controls the lock.

    TEG
     
  3. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #3
    It's probably a totally different baseband. Remember how long it took for the EDGE iPhone unlocks to come from the dev team? I wouldn't expect these to come any faster. We have no experience unlocking 3G iPhones. Just like we had no experience unlocking EDGE iPhones when they first came out.

    They are different phones.
     
  4. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #4
    not only that... an unlocked 3G iPhone in the US doesn't serve much purpose since no other carrier uses that band so i can't see much point to it honestly.
     
  5. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #5
    Assuming they do unlock it, we could run them on T-Mobile and just forget about 3G ... but would the A-GPS work?
     
  6. Ntombi macrumors 68030

    Ntombi

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Location:
    Bostonian exiled in SoCal
    #6
    How long did it take for the original to be unlocked?
     
  7. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #7
    I recall about 6 weeks, but I could be wrong, but I do remember it being before 1.1.1.

    TEG
     
  8. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #8
    i think the GPS would work, but i'm not 100% sure on that one. but yeah you would lost the 3G speed for sure, making the most compelling feature of the new phone obsolete. i think thats why there is no rush really.
     
  9. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #9

Share This Page