What's MDworker

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by fireshot91, Aug 22, 2009.

  1. fireshot91 macrumors 601

    fireshot91

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #1
    I saw that for the last couple of minutes that iStat's menu bar showed my CPU being at a full 100% usage.
    I closed the flash game I was playing, and it went down to about 75%.

    I checked the active processes, and iStat showed mdworker using about 90% of my CPU.
    Any problems?
    Google shows that it should be at the most around 40%. The only thing I have mounted is my boot drive, and Time Machine. Oh and a DMG file.

    My active applications are my wireless card application, Transmission, iTunes, Firefox, and iChat.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #2
    "MD" stands for metadata -- mdworker is part of the suite of tools that provide the Spotlight functionality. Every once in a while, people find it pegging for no reason... usually the recommendation is to manually force a new spotlight index. this might help:

    http://www.tongfamily.com/archives/2008/08/mdworker-bogging-mac/
     
  3. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #3
  4. fireshot91 thread starter macrumors 601

    fireshot91

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #4
    Yes, I have added new files.

    Now it's not doing that, it's not even in the top 5 tasks anymore. I guess it was because Time Machine was backing up? Or because it was indexing my drive.

    Oh well, all I know is it's gone now! :cool:
     
  5. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #5
    New files and indexing Time Machine would definitely do it.
     

Share This Page