What's middle click in Mac?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by stanny, Nov 16, 2009.

  1. stanny macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    #1
    I just bought a new mouse for my mac. Previously, my old mouse had a middle click button in which I swore by. I used it in firefox to middle click links so that it opens up in new tabs and I also hovered over the tab and middle clicked to close it.

    My new mouse has no middle click but instead it has one programmable button in which case it's a small compromise. What can I set it to perform the same as my lovable middle click?
     
  2. notstevelam macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    #2
    there is no programmable 'middle click' for macs. this is only for pcs. what new mouse did you get doesn't have middle click???
     
  3. scottness macrumors 65816

    scottness

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Location:
    Room 101
    #3
    The middle button is usually programmable to whatever you want it to be. What mouse did you get? That makes a difference.
     
  4. stanny thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    #4
    The mouse I got is a Logitech bluetooth M555b. There's actually a middle click but it's not actually a button. It's more of a hardware thing to switch from jagged non-smooth scrolling to smooth scrolling on the hardware scroller itself. I have never seen anything like that. I really wish if it was just a traditional middle click button.

    So the only option I'm left with is to use the logitech software to program the extra available button to make it perform my functions in Firefox which all I want is the middle click. Middle click to open links in new tabs and close tabs with middle click. I could already do this with an older logitech mouse with an actual middle click.
     
  5. scottness macrumors 65816

    scottness

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Location:
    Room 101
    #5
    It appears that there are 3 programmable buttons, according to Logitech's specs. If that's the 3rd button, you can make it do whatever you want. Have you installed the software that came with it?
     
  6. stanny thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    #6
    I can make it do whatever I want, but there's no option for a middle click. I can program it to perform an "advanced click" which is basically I select CMD + CLICK or similiar, or even a keystroke such as CMD + T, etc.
     
  7. stanny thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    #7
    Ah silly me. I've found the middle click option under Click. This is a great bluetooth mouse btw if anybody is looking for one. No need for a receiver. Thanks!
     
  8. scottness macrumors 65816

    scottness

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Location:
    Room 101

Share This Page