What's next, after a MacPro2,1 Quad-Core Intel Xeon 3.0ghz?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by onesixright, Aug 6, 2012.

  1. onesixright macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #1
    Hi All!

    Ok, this is the deal. My old MP2,1 can't sadly run Mountain Lion, cause of the 32bit EFI BIOS. Nothing new... I know, some 64 EFI hack it might be possible.... But i'm looking to build my own, so i can run ML. Now i need some advice, what would be a good CPU upgrade moving from Quad-Core Intel Xeon 3.0Ghz to ???

    My current geekbench score is 10471. When looking at some of their score-list its kind of overwhelming, :confused: Somehow i get the feeling that when i move over to for example, a Intel I7, by CPU power i'm not much gaining. Maybe i'm wrong.

    So the question is: what id a -cpu-wise- a good (reasonable) step forward? i'm thinking of a CPU in the price range of 500-700 USD. Or is my current CPU basically outperforms this price range?

    Looking forward for some of your thoughts!
     
  2. flatfoot macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    #2
    Get a single CPU Mac Pro 4,1 or 5,1 used, replace the CPU with a 6-core 3.33GHz 6-core W3680 (firmware update required for 4,1).

    After selling your old Mac Pro and the old CPU of the new one, you'll have a ~15700 Geekbench score machine for ~1000 bucks.
    It's considerably faster and way more power efficient than your current Mac Pro.

    ----------

    If you want to go Hackintosh, this is the way to go: http://www.tonymacx86.com/100-building-customac-buyer-s-guide-2012.html
     
  3. El Awesome macrumors 6502

    El Awesome

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Location:
    Zurich
    #3
    There isn't much more than the 12-core 3.3Ghz.. and for that you need at least a 4.1 that you can flash into 5.1
     
  4. flatfoot macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    #4
    ...and that upgrade costs ~1500 bucks per CPU, ~3000 bucks in total, not taking into account the base price for the machine to upgrade. The OP was asking for a CPU between 500 and 700 bucks, which I already exceeded, though not by much, with my suggestion.
     
  5. El Awesome macrumors 6502

    El Awesome

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Location:
    Zurich
    #5
    Just a question: I have a 2.66Ghz MP4.1
    I want to upgrade my CPU but I'm not sure if I should take the 3.2Ghz Quad W3565 or for twice as much money the W3680.

    I mainly use Adobe PS and AI and stuff. They use only one core. But I heard that the W3680 will speed my machine up in general?
     
  6. onesixright thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #6
    Thanks (!) for the reps ones! More then $ 1000 is off budget :(

    How would a 3.2GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon W3565 compare to my current system?

    Any other thoughts on a macro 4.1or 5.1, here in Holland not really that many to buy. What could be the alternative?
     
  7. El Awesome macrumors 6502

    El Awesome

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Location:
    Zurich
    #7
    You won't be able to install a W3565 neither. You'll need the 5.1 firmware for that.
    And the W3565 is even weaker than your current system.

    In your budget, I guess you already own the best.
     
  8. onesixright thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #8
    yeah, that was my concern. thanks.
     
  9. El Awesome macrumors 6502

    El Awesome

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Location:
    Zurich
    #9
    If you still need more power, get an SSD and more RAM. Both of them together (256GB SSD & maxed out RAM) will be in your 500$ budget for sure.
     
  10. onesixright thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #10
    its not truly about power, i just want to use mountain lion.
     
  11. TableSyrup macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    #11
    I went from a modded 8 Core 1,1 (2,1 firmware, octo 2.66 with the 5355's and 16GB RAM) to a 5,1 Quad 2.8 with 32GB RAM, and I have experienced a performance INCREASE in Pro Tools

    Depending on what you are doing, I would say you might experience the same
     
  12. onesixright thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #12
    Thanks. Meaning you bought a macpro5.1 then went the upgrade path? I was looking but i didn't find easy, here in holland secondhand. The macpro5,1 is 2010 right? any idea what year the 4,1 is?
     
  13. flatfoot macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    #13
    No, he meant without the upgrade. The newer CPU architecture (plus hyperthreading and turbo) makes the 5,1 quad faster than the 2,1 octo.

    4,1 is 2009, 5,1 is 2010.
     
  14. onesixright thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #14
    sorry, but then I'm missing something. A MP1,1 as the MP2,1 have a EFI32 bios, i need a EFI64 to be able to install ML. So how did he do that?
     
  15. flatfoot macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    #15
    Yes, you're missing something. He sold the 1,1/2,1 and bought a 5,1, but didn't upgrade it to a 6-core.
     
  16. onesixright thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #16
    ah, yes. ok now it clear. thanks!
     
  17. TableSyrup macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    #17
    hahaha. thanx for clearing that up ;)

    I don't regret the move.

    I actually made the swap even out, no money out of pocket.

    Got enough out of my modded 1,1 to buy the 5,1 (2010 yes)

    And the 5,1 has a 5770 and 32GB OWC RAM.... so it was a great move.

    The hyperthreading and turboboost offset the number of cores I guess.... it's kinda funny, cause my 1,1 Geekbenched higher than this thing, but this thing is outperforming the 1,1 with everything I do.

    I knew going in that the 5,1 Quad would 'show' as 8 cores, but I didn't really expect it to perform better than the 8 core 1,1 - I would have been happy with the same performance.... I'm really happy that it is in fact performing better - FOR MY TASKS

    Bench scores aren't everything I guess ;)
     
  18. flatfoot macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    #18
    True. And if you decide you need a bit more oomph down the road, you can easily upgrade to the 6-core CPU then. Nice to have the option...
     
  19. TableSyrup macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    #19
    Yeah, I think I'm gonna grab a Hex soon just for the heck of it... I'm sure I'll need it.

    The ultimate plan is to swap in a dual cpu board at some point....

    I like the thought that I can upgrade this thing all the way to a 12 core.
    Heck of an upgrade path
     

Share This Page