What's required for 1080p 30fps?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by joeysarks, Sep 25, 2012.

  1. joeysarks macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Location:
    Detroit
    #1
    I have a 13 inch baseline Sandy Bridge MBP from 2011, and currently record at 720p 60fps Apple ProRes 422. If I upgraded to Mountain Lion so I could record in 1080p with my Blackmagic, could I record in 1080p 30fps with my current laptop? Maybe if I dropped to Apple ProRes LT?
     
  2. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #2
    720p60 and 1080p30 are very close in terms of data rate so you shouldn't have a problem.
     
  3. nateo200 macrumors 68030

    nateo200

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Location:
    Northern District NY
    #3
    720p60 actually sometimes even exceeds the bit rate of 1080p30 as its something like 2.2x the data. 1080p is 1.5x bigger than 720p but with 60p your adding double the frames than 30p so its really more data with 720p60. You should be fine. I can edit 2K (2048x1556) pretty smoothly on my machine (see in my signature).
     
  4. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #4
    1280 x 720 = 921,600 pixels while 1920 x 1080 = 2,073,600 pixels. So 720p60 is about half the image size but double the frame rate compared to 1080p30. Codecs can vary but with ProRes Apple gives the same data rate to both (147 Mb/s aka 66 GB/hr).
     
  5. joeysarks thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Location:
    Detroit
    #5
    Might not even be an option anymore, my laptop was dropping frames left and right last night:( Might just break down and snag a baseline MacBook Pro and be done with it. I'm getting to 10 minute vids sometimes with heavy efx anyways, I could use the extra horsepower for editing and exporting to save time. Would 16 bgs be recommended or is 8 fine. Whenever I work in Motion 5 or FCPX I only have those programs open by themselves, 16 isn't needed is it?
     
  6. matteusclement macrumors 65816

    matteusclement

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    victoria
    #6
    are you editting on an external drive? that could help.
    Also, you can replace your DVD drive with a hard drive.
     
  7. mBox macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    #7
    Download Black Magics Speed Test app from Apple App store.
    Helps you check drive speed and spits out format types your drive is capable off.
     
  8. blesscheese macrumors 6502a

    blesscheese

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Location:
    Central CA
    #8
    I'd do what the guys posting above had said: check out the internal drive, and see if that is the bottleneck.

    I'd be willing to bet your internal drive is responsible for the slowdown in speed. An external drive might solve the problem, and would be cheaper than a full upgrade (and if you get an external drive, and it doesn't solve the problem, well, then you have another backup for your new Pro).
     
  9. mBox macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    #9
    Digital Video 101:

    Do not use your internal drive for footage!!
     
  10. joeysarks thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Location:
    Detroit
    #10
    I use an external. Somehow my two options for warning me about drops in FPS got clicked on though. I turned em off, and now although i can see lil dips in performance, it doesn't stop me from continuing to work.
     
  11. mBox macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    #11
    These days a lot of work is now being done on slower computers such as laptop.
    So it doesn't require any real time playback.
    Now of course if it was for broadcast and high-end film this isn't true.
    Since most just render to file, real-time is moot for most workflows.
     

Share This Page