Whats stoping you from......?? (making ringtones in GarageBand)

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by nlivo, Jan 4, 2008.

  1. nlivo macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Location:
    Ballarat, Australia
    #1
    What's stoping you from going into GarageBand, draging in a song from iTunes, clipping it to 30 seconds and exporting it for a ringtone for your iPhone??? Is that not possible??
     
  2. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #2
    The latest GB gives this as a specific option for people who want to. Some people are too lazy.
     
  3. Drumjim85 macrumors 68030

    Drumjim85

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    DFW, TX
  4. nlivo thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Location:
    Ballarat, Australia
    #4
    what do you mean?? So is it possible??
     
  5. Telp macrumors 68040

    Telp

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    #5
    Yes, make your ringtone (less then 40 seconds i think) then go to like export or something, it will have the ringtone option, itll tell you to loop it, and then sent it to itunes as a ringtone.

    http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=307108
     
  6. peeaanuut macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Southern California
  7. Me1000 macrumors 68000

    Me1000

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    #7
    GB will open MP3s with no problem at all.
     
  8. MacsAttack macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #8
    I created ring tones with both. No problem.
     
  9. mathewr macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
  10. dacreativeguy macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    #10
    I've done it with mp3s and midis. Both work just fine.
     
  11. hexonxonx macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    #11
    Well first I have to figure out how to even use GarageBand. I've had my laptop for 6 months and never used GarageBand. I tired making a ringtone a few days ago and it only saved the first 8 seconds of the song. I gave up.

    I really don't need custom ringtones anyway, the digital ringtone has always been good for me.
     
  12. peeaanuut macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Southern California
    #12
    I made my first ringtone last night!! It took a little getting used to but once I did it was great. Now I have a few and am probably going to make a bunch more. I like these small customization features and I hope the iPhone allows for a lot more in the near future.
     
  13. CANEHDN macrumors 6502a

    CANEHDN

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    Eagle Mountain, UT
    #13
    you can't use protected AAC files. Other than that I think its ok.
     
  14. Sonicjay macrumors 6502a

    Sonicjay

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #14
    http://www.cnettv.com/9742-1_53-31792.html

    There's a real nice video walk through on how to do this. Works great! As mentioned, you can't drag protected files in, you'll need to burn/rip them first (or however you prefer to remove the drm). I took an RCA/earphone cord and plugged my macbook right into my NES and made some cool Mario Bros ringtones with GarageBand. Using that cable, the possibilities are endless to what you can record, nice and crystal clear. :)
     
  15. SFStateStudent macrumors 604

    SFStateStudent

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco California, USA
    #15
    C'mon Mac owners...

    don't give up on GB. You can extend the length of the ringtone from the 8 seconds all the way up to 30 seconds. Just "click & drag & release" to about the 15 on the YELLOW LINE and you've got a 26-30 second ringtone. Then follow the prompts to transfer the new ringtone to iTunes and your iPhone. :cool:
     

Share This Page