What's the apple reason for not being able to manage contact groups

Discussion in 'iOS 10' started by vexorg, Jan 17, 2017.

  1. vexorg macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    #1
    Really, what is the reason?

    It's so annoying when you need to go to another device to add or shift a contact.

    What was wrong with the old system before the selection tick, flicking left and right into the groups was so much simpler.
     
  2. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    I dunno, maybe because they chose not too

    Not trying to sound coy, but they make decisions all the time on UI and UX without consulting consumers or using focus groups.
     
  3. vexorg thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    #3
    But contacts are a key part of a phone, and have been for many many years. It's such a simple vital function that they removed.
     
  4. Defthand macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    #4
    This missing ability has annoyed me since the phone’s conception. I have given feedback to Apple. What is someone to do if they don’t have an MacOS device to edit/organize their contacts? Use iCloud.com?
     
  5. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #5
    I could be off on this but I believe there are various third party apps that provide different contact organization features.
     
  6. Defthand macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    #6
    Possibly, but not within Apple’s Contacts app.
     
  7. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #7
    Right. But that's essentially part of the reason that apps exist, to enhance and add on to what Apple provides.
     
  8. Defthand macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    #8
    I agree, but in this example, the ability already exists in the app’s other iteration. Third-party apps are fine until they start to clutter or complicate One's workflow.
     
  9. vexorg thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    #9
    That's precisely what so annoying, it was there and they took it out. Now rather than simply add or make a change at the time, we must remember to use another mac or iCloud at a later time.

    When I travel globally due to work, there are many countries that have no mobile internet, or we must pay an expensive rate. And if it doesn't work standalone then you are crippled.

    I know we will probably not get it back by users wanting a feature (how dare we know what we want), I was curious to the apple logic in removing it (and messing up the operation)
     
  10. Armen macrumors 604

    Armen

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #10
    Usually I tend to defend Apple in the decisions they make but I agree with the OP on this. You can create contact groups in iCloud but not on the phone itself? who the heck made that decision?
     
  11. GreyOS macrumors 68030

    GreyOS

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    #11
    One reason DND can't be more useful to the average person is this restriction on group management.
     
  12. Abazigal macrumors 604

    Abazigal

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Location:
    Singapore
    #12
    It sounds like something which Apple simply never got round to adding.
     
  13. vexorg thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    #13
    But it was there in IOS6 or 7, then they removed it. It was also much simpler to navigate as it would slide left or right like finder on the mac, and you touch the group and it would slide over to show all the contact in that group. Press back and it gave all the groups as a top level. One touch rather than the 3 or 4 actions now.
     
  14. lemimouth macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    #14
    I have 2 professional accounts and 2 private accounts on my phone. Not being able to chose in which group I want to save a new contact is beyond my understanding o_O

    I constantly end up with private contacts in one of my professional account and vice versa, depending on which account is defined as default in settings. Nuts !
     

Share This Page