Whats the best set up with FCP7 for iphone 4/Pad 2 videos?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by Ptit, Jul 9, 2011.

  1. Ptit macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Location:
    moon
    #1
    Hey guys

    I am new to FCP and digital video,
    -i have FCP7 which was pricy and i use a
    -macbook pro 17 c2d/2.66/1TB HD late 2006 model,
    -OSX 10.6.4

    I have videos i shot with a green screen using the iPad 2 and iPhone,
    I want to use them in the FCP timeline, im told that if the set up matches i dont need to re render, but i like to ask how this is done because i can not find matching presets in FCP?
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    As the iPad 2 and iPhone 4 use H.264 as codec, you need to transcode the footage via MPEG Streamclip to a QuickTime (CMD+E) using the ProRes codec for video and Uncompressed for audio, MPEG Streamclip even has a Batch List (CMD+B) to transcode more than one video to the same format.
    Only that way you can properly use the footage inside FCP 7, as FCP 7 does not see H.264 as editing codec (which it isn't anyway).
     
  3. Ptit thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Location:
    moon
    #3
    English please, just kidding, thanks for your post

    what im confused about is the CMD+B thingy, assuming its one of the export formats of Streamclip app.. is this correct?
     
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
    CMD+B is the Batch List, meaning you can add several clips (10s, 100s, 1000s) and apply a SINGLE setting to all of them and transcode those.
    It is handy if you have several files that need to be the same format, thus eliminating the repeat of the same steps all over again, if you would just use CMD+E.
     
  5. Ptit thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Location:
    moon
    #5
    lol i thought it was a format instead of a key command, and i waited to see what format you would tell me it was lol, funny one

    So any format would do in the same size and frame rate right, i read somewhere one guy said use mpeg 4 when converting h.264 clips, you reckon its true?
     
  6. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #6
    H.264 is an MPEG-4 variant, and as H.264 is not an editing codec, MPEG-4 isn't too.

    As I wrote before, use the QuickTime container (.mov) with the ProRes codec (use the ProRes 422 codec to be specific) for video and leave the frame size as "unscaled". For audio use "Uncompressed".
    CMD is short for Command ().
     
  7. Ptit thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Location:
    moon
    #7
    thanks!
     
  8. initialsBB macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    #8
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Green screen with an iPhone ???? I think I've heard it all now.
     
  9. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #9
    Green is a recognised colour by the iPhone, it is just the key, which is not sophisticated enough to work with crappy compression.
     
  10. Ptit thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Location:
    moon
    #10
    works great for a fast quick music video :) we shot with canons, sonys and the ipad 2 and iphone looks great in its own way :) eat your hearts out

    only for youtube promos ofcourse lol
     
  11. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #11
    H.264 is good and advanced codec and used in many instances. It is just not meant for editing, though some applications can work with then natively, but it eats up precious CPU cycles and removes the not rendering part upon applying effects.
    Then there is also the sensor size, and the iPhone and iPad have very small sensors compared to prosumer cameras, thus a prosumer camera makes a much better image, even when using some MPEG-4 codec to compress it afterwards (which takes away some information anyway).
     

Share This Page