Whats the best VM for TF2?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Hakume iFox, Mar 26, 2009.

  1. Hakume iFox macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    #1
    Hey there. ^^
    First off, sorry, but trust me, I know there are dozens of threads on this exact topic already. For weeks I've been searching this topic on Google and most links directed to this forum. All the things I read gave me hope for being able to play TF2 on my MacBook but lately it seems impossible so I wanted to hear more recent input on this. [Because most of those threads Google offered were posted at least a year ago.] So here I am, posting this thread.

    Ok, so here's the deal...

    I got my MacBook in February. I honestly didn't know a Mac couldn't run all programs out there. Anyways. That lead me to ask my mom for Parallels.
    So we had a comp. guy she works with install a VM for me. Through research, I had chosen Parallels; seemed like the best to me.
    However, when I got my laptop back from him, he installed VMware Fusion instead... and not to mention, even the older version; version 1.1.1... >.>

    I decided I'd give it a try anyways since it's meant to do the same thing. It's been fine and all. But today my copy of TF2 came in the mail. I was really excited to try it, unfortunately it said I need a Pixel Shader 1.1 for TF2 to run. x[
    And yes, I turned on the 3D accelerator. The farthest I can go with that is the menu with the Medic where it says "Loading..." at the bottom right. Then the notice about the Pixel Shader comes up and TF2 closes.

    I tried to run TF2 without the accelerator just for the heck of it and that couldn't even bring up the game's start up menus. :\

    So, I called the computer guy and asked him to install Parallels instead since I've already read way more posts about people having luck with TF2 running on Parallels.
    But now I'm worried that I might have that same Pixel Shader problem.
    Can anyone reassure me that though that problem exists with VMware, it'll be fine with Parallels?

    And if this info helps, here you go...

    Hardware Overview:

    Model Name: MacBook
    Model Identifier: MacBook5,2
    Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
    Processor Speed: 2 GHz
    Number Of Processors: 1
    Total Number Of Cores: 2
    L2 Cache: 3 MB
    Memory: 2 GB
    Bus Speed: 1.07 GHz

    As for the options like Boot Camp or Codeweavers, idk. I really like having the Windows desktop in its own window, which is why as much as possible, I'm trying to avoid those two.

    Also, TF2 is probably the only Steam game I'll care about playing.
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    Upgrade your VMWare and please don't consider gaming within a virtual machine. Just run partition the drive using the BootCamp Assistant and install Windows.

    Do more research before you buy a computer as well...
     
  3. Jack Flash macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    #3
    Two things, well three.

    1. You can update to VMWare Fusion 2.1 for free.
    2. The best in OS X method of playing TF2 is Crossover Games
    3. Installing Windows in Bootcamp will work MUCH better than virtualizing it.
     
  4. Hakume iFox thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    #4
    Well, I literally didn't have a choice. It was a gift for my Birthday and it was a surprise. When I found out about the limitations on a Mac, I asked my mom if I could switch to an HP instead and she's really stubborn about it. Wants me to stick to my Mac since I'm going to major in graphic design.

    And thanks for the info, I'll try upgrading to version 2. I'll post the results when I can. o.o
     
  5. ravenvii macrumors 604

    ravenvii

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Location:
    Melenkurion Skyweir
    #5
    Like the above said, just use Boot Camp. You'll actually be using Windows, not in a virtualization environment or anything.
     
  6. LtRammstein macrumors 6502a

    LtRammstein

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #6
    I have Vista Ultimate on my MBP, and I do gaming and a few other things on it as well.

    To game, Boot Camp it. This will give you all the computer's resources to playing TF2. If you play TF2 or any Windows game in a VM, you'll actually be sorry. VM's, depending on their default settings, will take HALF of your computer's resources and run fairly poorly.

    Don't get me wrong, VM's are nice and powerful, but what you want to use for it, not worth doing.

    Also, the suggestion of a Crossover Game is not too bad, but I've had issues with those, so use at your own digression.
     
  7. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #7
    For gaming: Boot Camp, hands down. Virtual machine for gaming is a joke.
     
  8. cathyy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
  9. Hakume iFox thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    #9
    I actually went with option two.
    Though the graphics are still stuck at dx8, the company is working on one upping that. Actually being able to play it is more important to me.
    ( Though TF2's phong shading IS beautiful :< )

    Also, even after upgrading VMware Fusion several times, it can not run TF2.
    It says I'm missing Pixel Shader v1.x.x even with the 3D Graphics enabled... which claims to run dx9 with Shader Model v2.

    Really disappointing, especially for the money my mom put into it and the claims Fusion advertised. -.-

    Anyways, I realize I posted this thread nearly five months ago.
    I just wanted to share what I've learned from my mistake of trying out VMware Fusion first so that others can reference to this if they have the same question. D:
     

Share This Page