What's the best way to backup iPhoto library?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by seedman76, Mar 29, 2014.

1. seedman76 macrumors member

My iPhoto library is 19,000 photos, about 171GB of HD space plus another 80GB of videos on my MBP. I need to back all these photos up so that I can delete them from my iPhoto library and free up HD space. What's the best method/option to back up this many photos? I'm no computer expert so the clearer the instructions/suggestions the better. Thank you!

2. simsaladimbamba

Get an external HDD or two, connect it to your Mac, format it/them with Disk Utility to Mac OS Extended and then copy the iPhoto Library file to that HDD or those HDDs.
    If you only copy it to one HDD and then delete the iPhoto Library on the source volume, it is not a backup, since a backup means having at least two copies of one file.

Using Disk Utility - Formatting, Partitioning, Verifying, and Repairing Disks

3. Fishrrman macrumors G3

As mentioned above in reply #2, if you just copy the iPhoto library to -one- external drive (and delete it from your MBP), the files are NOT backed up.

You need ANOTHER COPY of the files, just in case. That means a SECOND external drive of some sort.

One way to "juggle" multiple backup drives is with a "dock" type of drive adapter. To see what these are, go to amazon and enter "usb3 sata dock" into the search box, and you'll get many hits. These are cheap and useful devices, starting at around $20.

You might use an external "enclosed" drive for your primary "archive" drive (the first drive to which you copy your photos). Keep that one near the computer.

Then, use a USB3/SATA dock to create at least one backup of the archive drive. Keep this one in the house, as well. This serves as the "immediate backup" of your "archive" drive.