What's the deal with Flash in Mavericks

Discussion in 'OS X Mavericks (10.9)' started by pianodude123, Aug 18, 2014.

  1. pianodude123 macrumors 6502a

    pianodude123

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    in the internet
    #1
    I just performed a fresh install of Mavericks and am choosing not to restore anything from backups. Now, when I go to sites that have flash (such as www.speedtest.net) it asks me to install flash. Ideally, I would like to not install any third party software that's not part of Apple's sandbox environment. Is this just something that's a necessary install? What do you all do?
     
  2. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #2
    If you want to view Flash content then you need to install Flash. It's as simple as that.

    I've installed it.
     
  3. pianodude123 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    pianodude123

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    in the internet
    #3
    Okay I'm going to see if I can go without it then. How about Java? Is that included out of the box?
     
  4. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #4
    Nope, that's not included anymore either. It's all bare-bones these days :)
     
  5. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #5
    No you have to install it. IMHO you don't need Java unless you have a program using Java.
     
  6. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #6
    There is no need to avoid useful 3rd party software if that functionality doesn't exist in Apple software. Just be careful where you get software and you'll be fine.
     
  7. LukeHarrison macrumors regular

    LukeHarrison

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Location:
    Selby, UK
    #7
    Just install Google Chrome and use that, it comes complete with the latest Flash plugin, and is sandboxed in the browser, saving you from having to install it systemwide.
     
  8. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #8
    I never install Flash and just use Chrome (which includes Flash) if I need to use a Flash site, which is more and more rare.

    http://speedof.me

    Here is a good speed test site that does not use Flash.
     
  9. glenthompson macrumors 68000

    glenthompson

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Location:
    Virginia
    #9
    I have flash installed but also use the Click to Flash plugin for Safari so that flash videos don't automatically load.
     
  10. pianodude123 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    pianodude123

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    in the internet
    #10
    I would install chrome, but I don't like how it runs updates and contacts Google servers in the background even when it's not running.
     
  11. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #11
    I certainly understand your concern there, but for me anyway the Chrome autoupdates have not caused any problems.
     
  12. NoBoMac macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    #12
    Despise! Google's update process. What a resource hog!

    So, to disable automatic updates, from a terminal:

    defaults write com.google.Keystone.Agent checkInterval 0
     
  13. thejadedmonkey macrumors 604

    thejadedmonkey

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #13
    I remember a few years ago, I had installed Picasa on my macbook. I decided I preferred iPhoto, and deleted the app. A week later, I got an auto-update prompting me to re-install Picasa because the app was corrupt or missing files.

    Ya, like the whole thing! In the end, I actually had to wipe OS X to get the friggin auto-updater to disappear. It wasn't even in the startup items.

    Never again will I install anything Google on any of my computers.
     

Share This Page