iPhone What's the difference between axis and grabby?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Samanosuke, May 12, 2013.

  1. Samanosuke macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
  2. Ol!ver macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    #2
    ...about a dollar.

    Seriously though, I've just installed this and it works well. Never tried Grabby though.
     
  3. Samanosuke thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    #3
    Well it seems grabby works the same way... I don't care about the price, I'm more interested in which one is better
     
  4. lanceuppercut47 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    #4
    The best thing about Grabby imo, I'm able to use a custom camera app from the lock screen in the same way as the stock IOS camera app, with no passcode.

    Granted it's not as secure/polished as the stock app's implementation as it doesn't take ProCamera (for example) into a sandbox mode where I have no access to existing phots, but it lets me straight into the camera and if I want to unlock normally, I'm prompted for my passcode.

    I'm reading that Axis doesn't do this, and plus I've already purchased Grabby for that one reason alone, so not going to buy something that offers nearly the same functionality for less.
     
  5. Ol!ver macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    #5
    The camera still doesn't need the PIN with this. Just third party apps.
     
  6. bandofbrothers macrumors 601

    bandofbrothers

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    Uk
    #6
    Ive looked at them both but have decided to stick with Jelly-lock for now.

    To each their own.
     
  7. Mrg02d macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
  8. lanceuppercut47 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    #8
    That's my point entirely, with a passcode set, grabby is able to bypass it for 3rd party apps, don't think there is anyone else out there that an do this whilst keeping the passcode enabled?
     
  9. Ol!ver macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    #9
    That seems counter untuitive to me. Why have a passcode set and then let people use your apps?

    What happens when you press the home button then, does it take you back to the lock screen?
     
  10. lanceuppercut47 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    #10
    Yes.

    Also, it's not about "letting people use my apps" it's more for quick access to different camera apps without needing the passcode whilst staying passcode protected. It's not perfect as you can still access the camera roll via the apps, it's not as well implemented as it's stock camera's sandbox mode.
     

Share This Page