Whats the Difference Between These Cameras?

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by Mac Addiction, Jun 5, 2011.

  1. Mac Addiction macrumors newbie

    Jun 4, 2011
    I'm looking forward on purchasing a T2i. However, one model from Dell is offering it at $800 whereas Amazon is offering it at $860. Im really just beginning to get into Photography (with the purchase of my T2i) so I really do not know all the technical terms and everything. Could anyone provide me with answers? Thank you!

    Dell Link: http://accessories.us.dell.com/sna/...e_bnrank=1&baynote_irrank=0&~ck=baynoteSearch

    Amazon Link: http://www.amazon.com/Canon-T2i-Dig...ZJHQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1307307285&sr=8-1

    Thanks once again for the replies in advance.
  2. hwojtek macrumors 65816


    Jan 26, 2008
    Poznan, Poland
    There is no difference between these cameras apart from the price. One of them is more expensive, while the other seller offers it cheaper. Same camera, same lens, different price. What did you expect?
  3. Mac Addiction thread starter macrumors newbie

    Jun 4, 2011
    Haha thanks. I thought that the "CMOS" stood for something that would the sensor or something. Again, sounds like a very silly question, so please forgive me. Thanks once again!
  4. c1phr macrumors 6502

    Jan 8, 2011
    CMOS is just the type of sensor, which most all modern still cameras use today. Every T2i has a CMOS sensor, whether the distributor lists it or not.

    It replaced a similar technology called CCD which is still used in many smaller P&S cameras as well as video cameras.

  5. Mac Addiction thread starter macrumors newbie

    Jun 4, 2011
    Thank you!
  6. H2Ockey macrumors regular

    Aug 25, 2008
    It turns out to be a bit of a silly question but it is better to ask. When shopping online for cameras there is a lot to beware of. The descriptions will vary of course to try and get search engines to find their particular ad, but as well it is important to read the whole description, make sure the package is complete and you are buying from a reputable dealer.
    There are many, many sites out there that appear to be advertising a very similar camera package at an great price, but what they are giving you will end up being a stripped down body and a bunch of 3rd party cheap extras.
    So yes in this case it would appear the ads are for the exact same thing with a couple buzz words in the title but it is good to check.

Share This Page