Whats the easiest way to get my data?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Revlefty, Nov 16, 2009.

  1. Revlefty macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    #1
    One of the previous updates seemed to crash my Macbook, as far I know the drive still works but it just won't start, and the cd drive is broken so I can't do an archive and install. I just upgraded to a Macbook Pro and I tried to swap HDs and install the new software on the old drive but the install doesn't go through. Any ideas on how I can get my stuff from the HD? I was thinking about putting the old drive back in the MBP and doing an archive and install using the old install disk to get it running again, but was wondering if anyone had any other ideas.
     
  2. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
  3. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #3
  4. Revlefty thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    #4
    I do but it's a few weeks old and I had some stuff on there since then that i'd like.

    spinnerlys, the Macbook doesn't have a FW.
     
  5. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #5
    So it's a Unibody MacBook (10/2008 - 6/2009) with those ports?
    [​IMG]

    Or the new white Unibody from 10/2009?
    [​IMG]


    If so, you could put the MB's HDD into an external 2.5" external HDD enclosure with USB. They can be had for around 15€.

    Then you can use Disk Utility or TechTools or Disk Warrior or Data Rescue 3 to recover data or repair the disk.
     
  6. Fishrrman macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #6
  7. Revlefty thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    #7
    Thanks, I was just looking for one of those. One question though before I buy something, I've tried to install SL on the old HD that was running Tiger and it fails about half way through (Something not being able to copy files) Is that going to be a problem when I try and get the files from it?
     

Share This Page