What's the MB limitations or MBP?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ukMB, Oct 22, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ukMB macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    #1
    Can a MB run CS4 standard, sketch up etc.
    Thanks
     
  2. ukMB thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    #3
    What????!!!!!
     
  3. Drumjim85 macrumors 68030

    Drumjim85

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #4
    exactly.
     
  4. ukMB thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    #5
    I mean will the MB run the programmes well?
     
  5. ukMB thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
  6. nope7308 macrumors 65816

    nope7308

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #7
    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  7. ukMB thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
  8. ukMB thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
  9. ukMB thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
  10. ukMB thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    #12
    Smoothly? Have you tried.
    Thanks
     
  11. ukMB thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
  12. Bengt77 macrumors 68000

    Bengt77

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2002
    Location:
    Europe
    #14
    A thread for the books. Excellent! However, I'm thinking Drumjim85 was referring to FireWire, when he wrote
    And he has a point. Do you need that, or not? And yes, a MacBook can most definitely run the programs you list. For the first time since Apple has a consumer notebook line besides the PowerBook/MacBook Pro line, the two are nearly merged, performance-wise. The differences are in the details. No FireWire, a somewhat inferior screen (making the MacBook less suited for photography or video editing), and a single GPU (a very capable one, though).

    So the question is, can you live with these 'limitations'? If you'd ask me, I'd say the new MacBook (especially the 2,4GHz one) really is the new 12" PowerBook.
     
  13. ukMB thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    #15
    No I dont use fw. But sketch up says reccomded GPU mem is 512MB though
    Thanks
     
  14. ukMB thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
  15. Bengt77 macrumors 68000

    Bengt77

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2002
    Location:
    Europe
    #17
    At work I run SketchUp 6 Pro on an old Pentium 4 box with a Nvidia Quadro FX 350 GPU (I think). It can't have more than 256MB of VRAM, and it's even quite possible it only has 128MB. SketchUp could run faster, of course, but it's nowhere near unusable. So it will be perfectly fine on the new MacBooks. Really, I think they're the sweet spot right now, when it comes to Apple laptops.

    EDIT: Make sure you put 4GB of RAM in the machine, though. With the applications you plan to use, you need as much memory as possible. And since the integrated GPU takes it's memory from system RAM, more of that is very welcome.
     
  16. ukMB thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    #18
    OK thanks I hope CS4 Design Standard will. If I upgarde memory to 4GB will they run better?
    Thanks
    :apple:
     
  17. PeterQC macrumors 6502a

    PeterQC

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    #19
    In my school we are running the CS3 Suite without trouble, and the specs aren't better then these new macs. (White 2GHz C2D 2GB Ram).

    You don't *need* a strong graphic card to run CS3. Only a good CPU is required.
     
  18. ukMB thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    #20
    Do you mean CS3 or CS4?
    Thanks
     
  19. nitewolfgtr macrumors regular

    nitewolfgtr

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    #21
    I see the new MB as a baby MBP. Only thing missing is the Firewire port and screen is approx 2" smaller. Hardware wise, its similar except for the graphic card. I think the MB will satisfy alot of users including those that wants to do moderate media/photo stuff such as CS4 and Final Cut Pro. Also since most of the cameras come in form of USB instead of firewire, you're not missing much. Unless you want to game much or must have firewire or can't stand the 13.3" screen, MB is worth it.

    I personally went with MBP cuz I got tired of the small screen.

    just my 2 cents. :D
     
  20. ukMB thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    #22
    I'm heading towards low end MBP cause of the GPU as I play Sims 2, AofE III etc Plus Sketch Up, CS4, CAD on XP through VM.
    Thanks
     
  21. Bengt77 macrumors 68000

    Bengt77

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2002
    Location:
    Europe
    #23
    For less than the price of the base MacBook Pro you can CTO a MacBook with a 320GB hard drive and 4GB of RAM. But if you are indeed going to run all these design, 3D and CAD software suites on it, you might want the 15,4" screen the MacBook Pro gets you. Me, I'm one of the people that wants a portable to be, well, portable. So that's a MacBook for me (as the Air is too crippled).
     
  22. Bengt77 macrumors 68000

    Bengt77

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2002
    Location:
    Europe
    #24
    Well, seeing he wrote CS3 twice, I'd say he probably meant CS4, yeah. :rolleyes:
     
  23. ukMB thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    #25

    ok lol! buying full spec low end MBP can always return if prefer MB!
    thanks
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page