whats the most i can install?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by zoran, Dec 7, 2013.

  1. zoran macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #1
    What is the latest OSX i can install on a
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #2
    Press more info, and screenshot the info pane giving your Mac Pro identifier..

    Looking at the ram speeds I would say 10.7, think its a 2,1 you have at most..

    You can hackintosh 10.9 on a 2,1, there's a very recent thread about it here.
     
  3. Nyy8 macrumors 6502a

    Nyy8

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Location:
    New England
    #3
    The Maximum OS you can install is 10.7 "Lion".

    I'm trying to think, but is Lion on the App store only? So I think your going to have to buy Snow Leopard>Then buy Lion. (Since Lion never came in a disk format to my knowledge) Someone else can confirm that.
     
  4. Dark Dragoon macrumors 6502a

    Dark Dragoon

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    That's a Mac Pro 1,1 (2006) model.
    Officially the latest version that it will run is OSX 10.7 (Lion).

    However with a more modern graphics card (assuming you haven't replaced the original graphics card) it can be made to run OSX 10.9 (Mavericks) by replacing the boot.efi.
     
  5. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #5
    im not close to it right now, between which machines are you?

    ----------

    Yes the original is installed, but Its the graphics card that stalls it in running MavX or ML?
     
  6. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #6
    I use a 3,1 which runs 800mhz FB-DIMM memory and supports 10.9 natively.

    Read Dark Dragoons post above!
     
  7. Nyy8 macrumors 6502a

    Nyy8

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Location:
    New England
    #7
    Yes! It is. It's something about 32 Bit and Apple's change to 64 bit in their newer OS'es.
     
  8. Dark Dragoon macrumors 6502a

    Dark Dragoon

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    Its primarily the 32bit EFI (note that the rest of the system is 64bit) which limits it to Lion, which is what the unofficial replacement boot.efi works around. However a more modern graphics card is also needed due to a lack of drivers for ML and Mav.
     
  9. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #9
    boot.efi replacing is a software change or hardware?
     
  10. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #10
    3,1 and newer boot EFI64, older EFI32.
     
  11. Dark Dragoon macrumors 6502a

    Dark Dragoon

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    software only.
     
  12. donw35 macrumors regular

    donw35

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #12
    the Boot.EFI is easy and a good way to breath new life into an old Mac Pro. I got this Mac Pro free with a bad video card and DVD drive, I did the Boot.EFI trick and put a GT240 I had lying around. found a set of 3.0GHz processors on ebay for $17 and upgraded it from 2.0GHz. Have another 4GB of ram in the mail for $25.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #13
    You would have to call Apple for download code. They don't even have 10.8 for sale on AppStore to my knowledge. I have always had to call a salesperson for lower OS. Gotta love the 'new' PITA model. Quickly get crap software sure. Only have one AppleID, perfect. Anything else is a big bag o' Apple hurt.
     
  14. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #14
    They hide by default any previous OS X versions in the App Store. Choice out of:
    Calling Apple
    Create a new user account on 10.6.8 system, sign in with Apple ID in App Store and buy.
    Or become 'Jolly Roger', install it disconnected from the web, then reconnect, sign into the App Store and buy.
     
  15. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #15
    You can find it in App Store? I looked everywhere. When I called Apple told me "Yeah we don't offer those in the App Store". Hmmmm.
     
  16. Dark Dragoon macrumors 6502a

    Dark Dragoon

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #16
    Not in the App Store directly, but you can buy Lion and Mountain Lion from the Apple online store which gives you a code to redeem in the Mac App Store.
     
  17. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #17
    Gotcha. Online vs. AppStore vs. Phone in.
    I always forget the standard "Online" store for software. Only use it for hardware.
    Thanks.
     

Share This Page